Goodbye Cruel World! (New One coming soon!)

in #opensim7 years ago

Goodbye Cruel World! (New One coming soon!)

So for the last few months I've been working on creating a world in the Kitely grid in opensim (an open source alternative to secondlife) as a bit of a pet project. It gave me a way to learn how to create objects in blender. How to move them into a virtual space and also some cool things on how to optimise my content. From that I ended up making this!

Snapshot_212.png

So one thing lead to another and only half of what I actually wanted to do ended up "on paper" soto speak I wasn't really feeling that motivated to finish it. SO how do you fix that problem?

BY NUKING EVERYTHING AND STARTING AGAIN

So! I thought that a neat way to keep myself motivated and also I guess break down creating a world for people who haven't had the pleasure of doing so was to make really cool posts about it and show it off to all the steemiest of people ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°).

Snapshot_321.png

So stay tuned for more posts!
Click these if you want to go visit! Hypergrid or a local on Kitely

Sort:  

Thanks! I was trying to think of something to put up that might be a bit fun to keep continuing :)

And you got it, good lucky!

Interesting is this $40 monthly?

Oh kitely has a few different prices for their simulators. You can totally run your own but I have a horrible internet connection so I just have one from there. I'm paying $14.99 there, that's their smallest one. But there are other hosting services out there as well I just ended up going with them :)

Thank you I might give it a go if I ever get some time.

Oh I totally should mention creating an account or just simply logging in is free. There's quite a lot of people who have made their own stuff on there. No paywall or anything to access it. They also have a sandbox for you to play around in too.

Interesting I take it the sandbox is small or limited is this why you are paying the $14 monthly?

Yeah they have tiered plans depending on how much space and resources you need. That's mainly to do with how many people are connecting to it at once as well. I guess you could compare it to a minecraft server or something simular.

Wow thank you @cryptoctopus for the resteem! :D

my pleasure! Keep working on this project, I agree with you, sometimes "tabula rasa" is the best way to get the creative juice flowing again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84