You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week 77 - Silence (Waves of Life) - naTHAN Kaye (Original Song)

in #openmic6 years ago

My partner @hedac first listened to your entry and inmediately called me to have a listen, there we were both sobbing (literally) while listening to it. In many ways we have faced many ups and downs. I know myself about being low and finding my thoughts worrisome (not to that point) but I have some gloom and doom engraved in my spirit that sometimes makes me doleful. I'm not so ready to share openly here but I understand and it resonates in places it hurts. I sometimes sing Annie´s song: just thinking about tomorrow clears away the cobwebs and the sorrows, bet your bottom dollar than tomorrow there´ll be sun. In dark times we easily forget how to kindle a smile, yet the power of a smile can do so much. I also had a friend that "broke" and she left way too soon. Curiously 3 days before I had been with her and she seemed so happy and having had some "messed up times" behind. They were family issues, nothing so serious but had been neglecting eating and she was frail. Still last thing I remember of her was her sparkling radiant smile, apparently full of a hope that was not entirely real... as she decided to take her own life soon after that. I always felt I failed as a close friend to read the signs and for the longest time I felt guilty. I always thought, being life so wonderful (and despite struggles I think it is) what makes someone reach that extreme? First time I got really depressed I understood how your brain can trick you. Keeping things inside is not healthy and some need to overcome a silly sense of "shame" of "not wanting to bother". So they swallow until choking with sorrow. I understand it now but I don't want to be down there. Beautiful performance, really powerful and emotive.

Sort:  

I'm so moved and honoured by your words and very grateful that @hedac called you over to listen to this.
Thanks so much for opening up like this here. I'm certain that if someone else feeling low were to read these words they would feel less lonely than before.

It rocks us so deeply when we lose a friend this way. They leave a wake of unanswerable questions and confusing emotions behind them for us to come to terms with. By doing that they've unwittingly burdened us with their troubles, but it's too late and we can't help resolve them, so they may as well have reached out to us before they had taken their final action.
That's why I try to encourage open communication around this so that the burden is shared and can potentially (likely) be resolved and healed.
But we can't get stuck in the past of 'would haves' & 'should haves' as it serves no good purpose.
All we can do is be aware of our own inner state and check in with others in our community to see how they're really doing.

Anyway, thank you so much!
Blessings
💚🙏🏽

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53