Open mic week 67- original song, "My Father The Crow" by Willow JonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago

STEEMIT open mic week 67-original song, "My Father The Crow." by Willow Jon

I'm super stoked to be joining the steemit open mic community. Thanks to @luzcypher and @pfunk for all the hard work and time your putting into this cool new music forum.
I wrote this song as a celebration of my fathers life. My father was an awesome spirit with so much love, joy, curiosity, and humor. His passions were reading, writing, photography, music, environmental concerns, kayaking, hiking, skiing, and taking long solo trips into nature. He traveled the world, rode motorcycles across Europe, and raised a wonderful family. When he passed their was a murder of crows hopping and crowing about on the power lines and in the trees outside his hospice room. Some say the crow is a symbol of the supernatural and can act as a messenger to the other side and so when I see them flying and floating in the air or sitting and chatting in burned out tree branches, I talk to them and think about my father. Love you Daddio! This songs for you!

Sort:  

Nice job Jon very passionate.

Thanks Mike! I feel grateful to be able to have connected with music in life. It's like they say, "In the beginning there was the sound!" Rock on!

really awesome.. great playing totally loved it.. love your voice, rocky grit on those verses very cool

Much appreciated! I grew up playing in a punk band and then learned how to fingerpick and sing more mellow and so now I have the best of both worlds. willowjon.com

Hi! Your brother recommended you. I like your song and your energy. I will resteem your post.

Thank you very much! Music has allowed me to start a conversation that continues every moment I can listen, play, or feel the music of life!

i feel the energy man! it kicks ass with the echo effect!

Thanks man! I didn't want to overdo it so I just put some light echo on the chorus parts and panned them to the right side and made sure the level wasn't too loud as to make it sound not organic enough.

right on! that was cool, enjoyed the echo and your performance

Much thanks gibber! I love music and always wanted to be able to play something original, with passion and heart that people could connect with and I have been fortunate enough to get past the learning curve and keep enjoying music.

Hey Jon welcome to Steemit bro! Just read you joined ! Congratulations! And your dad sounds amazing ! Really enjoyed your song to your dad. It shows you miss him dearly.

Thanks man! Yeah Daddio was a great man and his spirit still lives on like the rain falling over the sunset. I see great things in store for you brother. Happy 2018`

Thank you! Willowjon!! would be great to get your interpretion on my last art post called "Kurtd Cobain" your insight would help us : )

With love

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

That was awesome jon! Nice work. I enjoyed the song and the energy you put into it.

Thanks Paul! It's not easy to get something right when your recording it as it seems to change the atmosphere. I like to create to that's a good thing.

You got guitar skills! And nice tattoos :)

Thanks Sandrina! Music and Tattoos go together like peanut butter and jelly! I like to think my tattoos have a story like my songs and both of them are symbols to represent our awareness and energy!

Thanks much passion-ground! You play music also?

Indeed I do, brother! I entered the Open-Mic contest 34-weeks in a row... I'm sure if you rifle down through my blog you'll find numerous entries and musical performances I've submitted... The most recent submissions are "unofficial" since I became a judge - but if you keep on scrolling down throughout my history, you'll find all of my "official" entries as a contestant. I may be adding another "unofficial" entry this week as well. Thanks for asking!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27