Sort:  

"Heart-opening" is just the right word, yes. In fact, there's a certain area of the ceremony when the Sun Dancer's chest is pierced by a bone, in order to attach the skin to the tree. The opening is both metaphorical and literal, as there is blood shed here. Brings tears to my eyes, remembering.

Oh my gosh! Now here's a question for you: Do you think people have to make sacrifices like this in order to connect with Spirit? I'm not so sure that's the case, but I'd love to know your opinion. I can't imagine we're all intended to be martyrs, are we? Do Native traditions name certain people "heroes" or "saints" like they do in the Catholic traditions?

You know what, that's a really good question. My personal belief is that suffering is not a pre-requisite of spiritual connection, but possibly surrender is. I think there's a necessary surrender to the flow of life where spirit is–this is how and where connection can happen. I do think some people's form of surrender is to suffer, or self-sacrifice, so maybe that's how and where it works in the Sun Dance. However, the goal is definitely not to achieve any form of status, i.e. "Hero" or "Saint." Instead, the goal is to achieve humility.

I'm no expert on this subject, but I am passionate about learning. To me, it seems like Native traditions praise the natural elements, giving ample thanks to the Creator and Provider. And the praise is reserved for this, rather than given praises to the people. Personally, I might go so far as to call a person a "Chief" or a "Warrior" or a "Brave" or an "Uncle," as a sign of respect, to name a few examples. I might say, "I'm proud of you," and "I appreciate you," and "I love you very much." I honor all life as sacred, and I honor all living beings as my relations. I reserve my glorification for the Most High, whom you might call Mother Nature or Father Sky, or God... Hope this helps to satisfy your questions, now that you know my perspective. There is so much I do not know. And I honor the Mystery. Aho.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61111.24
ETH 2687.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61