SteemIt Openmic Week 48 - Preassassination America (Original Song)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Pre-Assassination America
I just want to live another day in Pre-Assassination America
I just want to play one more day in Pre-Assassination America
I just want to live another day in Pre-Assassination America

LBJ
JFK
Malcolm X
Cassius Clay
Vietnam
Chiang Kai Shek
Atom Bomb
All Hands On Deck
Space Race
Style and Grace
Greatest hope for the Human Race
Willie Mays
Salad Days
Cavern Club
TV Craze

Take me back take me back take me back
Cuz I want to go back to
Take me back take me back take me back
Cuz I want to go back to

I just want to play one more day in Pre-Assassination America
I just want to live another day in Pre-Assassination America

Flaming Star
Barney Fife
John Glen
You Bet Your Life
Stork Club
Sam I Am
Where in hell is Vietnam?
Hollywood
Style and Grace
Greatest Hope for the Human Race
You know that what I speak is true
Put a man on the moon for you

Take me back take me back take me back
Cuz I want to go back to
Take me back take me back take me back
Cuz I want to go back to

And if I go I just might stay
Live out my days
In Pre-Assassination America

Take me back take me back
Cuz I want to go back to

Sort:  

Great guitar song, clever lyrics, with to my ear, ( a touch of Billy Joel's lyrical reference to the famous). I enjoyed it immensely!

Thanks passion, I like your stuff too especially your recent cover of Dylan's Knock knock knockin.
I would like to say that the Billy Joel influence was purely coincidental but I'd be lyin ;-)

Why thank you, kind sir! Just finished a production version of that tune - maybe I'll post it someday. And yeah - how can we not be influenced by others great music & lyrics - EVERYONE draws upon someone some times (if not all the time) - including all of the legendary greats!

fantastic lyrics love that chorus

Congratulations @wethepatsies! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow amazing lyrics. Nice skills playing!

Thanks carlferr - Following!

Congratulations @wethepatsies! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice tune! If there is a road back there, then this is the tune to play when we're on it! That looks like a killer axe man.... some kind of classic tele?

Thanks fulcanelli! Yes unfortunately I can't seem to find that road on Google Earth :-p
That axe is 'Alice' my first electric and she's a 1971 Tele.

Can't fault you on that one. Alice is sounding sweet! Google earth is censored anyway - it's one of the blurred out bits like the lost cities of the giants and that gigantic natural image of Michael Jackson doing the Moonwalk in the Mojave. :-)

Thanks dreamrafa that's me having fun.

Great tune @wethepatsies Love the guitar work too.
Following and looking forward to more great tunes.
Cheers,
Bucky

Thanks Bucky Following back at you.
More is on the way!
Thanks again.

Thanks Luzcypher and bless you for all you do for the Steemit Openmic community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57959.67
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44