Steemit Open Mic Week #96 - Taylor Swift - Ronan (Ukulele Cover by @vincy)

in #openmic6 years ago


Hey Steemians/Dtube/Open Mic,

I've been practicing to do an open mic since Sunday and initially I used a different song but on Monday when I was home I recorded this one to Dsound so I thought I would play this one as open mic too when my first song fell through.

This is a sad but lovely song that captures the moments of a mother's memories of her child.

Taylor Swift wrote this song because she was so touched by the mother's blog about her little boy who had cancer. She has only ever performed this a few times in public and it doesn't come in any albums.
All the proceeds from the song were donated to charities that help fund cancer research.

Here's an excerpt from her blog:

‘I wrote a song for Ronan,’ [Taylor] said. The tears started pouring down my cheeks as soon as I heard her say those words. But her words didn’t stop there. Not only did she write a song for you, but she wanted to know if it would be alright to preform it on the nationally televised Stand Up 2 Cancer show which is on every major network and is seen in over 100 countries. She wanted to know if she could use a picture of you in the background while she sang the song. She wanted to make me co-author of the song with her. She talked about how from reading this blog and following our story, has inspired her and how amazing she thinks I am and all I am doing, to bring awareness to childhood cancer.

I practiced this song sooo many times in three different sittings and for at least 2 hours.
The first time I practiced it I wasn't playing the song so it wasn't as hard. I actually thought it would be easier to perform it on camera, but I had forgotten that doing slow songs actually are much harder than fast ones - you will hear all the errors more and in order to get into the feels of the slow song you also lose your place and stuff up haha..

This one is the best one so far! I hope you like it!!

Lyrics:
[Verse 1]
I remember your bare feet, down the hallway
I remember your little laugh
Race cars on the kitchen floor, plastic dinosaurs
I love you to the moon and back

I remember your blue eyes looking into mine
Like we had our own secret club
I remember you dancing before bed time
Then jumping on me waking me up

I can still feel you hold my hand, little man
And even the moment I knew
You fought it hard like an army guy
Remember I leaned in and whispered to you

[Chorus]
Come on baby with me we're going to fly away from here
You were my best four years

[Verse 2]
I remember the drive home
When the blind hope turned to crying and screaming "Why?"
Flowers pile up in the worst way, no one knows what to say
About a beautiful boy who died

And it's about to be Halloween
You could be anything you wanted, if you were still here
I remember the last day, when I kissed your face
I whispered in your ear

[Chorus]
Come on baby with me we're going to fly away from here
Out of this curtain room and this hospital grey, we'll just disappear
Come on baby with me we're going to fly away from here
You were my best four years

[Bridge]
What if I'm standing in your closet trying to talk to you?
What if I kept the hand-me-downs you won't grow into?
And what if I really thought some miracle would see us through?
What if the miracle was even getting one moment with you?

[Chorus]
Come on baby with me we're going to fly away from here
Come on baby with me we're going to fly away from here
You were my best four years

[Outro]
I remember your bare feet, down the hallway
I love you to the moon and back


If you liked this video please support me by upvoting!
I would love to hear from you!
Chat to me in the box below.
Please also share this video by resteeming, and if you like to see more videos Follow me :)

I am a full time mum to one active 2 year old boy, casual photographer, wife, and I create content for a variety of steemit platforms. I am part of Steemit Mamas, Onelovedtube and TeamAustralia 🌅
Please visit my feed and profile for more details :)

20180516_002249_0001.png

onelove.png

teamaustralia_thin.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

You had me in tears. I had never heard this song before. It's amazing that she captured these feelings without being a mom herself. Thanks so much for sharing.

Aww thank you for listening! It was pretty heavy singing that song! It was probably why it took ages to record it right cos of the emotion needed

Posted using Partiko iOS

Taylor definitely has talent for writing about life and experiences with emotion

Posted using Partiko iOS

The lyrics.. Really move me to tears. :(

Great singing @vincy.

Thanks so much for watching! ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79