Steemit Open Mic Week 105 | Fast Car - by Tracy Chapman (Ukulele Fingerstyle)

in #openmic6 years ago


Hello Steemit! Ukulele Tutorials here(aka MMG Smuf) and today I'm entering Open Mic!


Why This Song? Fast Car


Recently I heard this song on the radio while on a drive back home from an adventure with my love. It was snowing on the road, and traffic was moving slow in most lanes, but I'm accustomed to driving in snow and so, well, I drove fast. I would drive in the lane filled with snow and feel no worry switching lanes in what others surely considered to be wicked conditions. We had a fast car, in a beautiful winter wonderland...and we had a destination. Nothing was stopping us from getting home...and then this song came on.

It would be 2 months before I heard the song again and when I did, a day later I picked up my uke while wondering about the apartment (as I'm known to do) and I attempted to play that tune I'd come to enjoy, fast car. To my surprise, I played what sounded like the correct notes for the intro on my first try...I thought to myself, what about the little lick...and then I played that right too, first try. I'm not making this up. So, next I figured there's no way I'm gonna be lucky enough to just figure the song out, let me go to youtube and see if there are tutorials on the real notes. Well, they told me to play exactly what I had been playing xD , but they also gave me the chorus strum pattern, which was just what I was looking for. Another day went by and the blockchain was fixed...time for open mic :)

I hope you enjoy this rendition of the song.


Song lyrics - Fast Car by Tracy Chapman


lyric source

[Verse 1] You got a fast car I want a ticket to anywhere Maybe we make a deal Maybe together we can get somewhere Any place is better Starting from zero got nothing to lose Maybe we'll make something Me myself I got nothing to prove

[Verse 2]
You got a fast car
I got a plan to get us outta here
I been working at the convenience store
Managed to save just a little bit of money
Won't have to drive too far
Just 'cross the border and into the city
You and I can both get jobs
Finally see what it means to be living

[Verse 3]
See my old man's got a problem
He lives with a bottle that's the way it is
I say his body's too old for working
His body's too young to looking like his
My momma went off and left him
She wanted more from life than he could give
Said somebody's gotta take care of him
So I quit school and that's what I did

[Pre-Chorus]
You got a fast car
Is it fast enough so we can fly away?
We gotta make a decision
Leave tonight or live and die this way

[Chorus]
So I remember when we were driving
Driving in your car
Speed so fast it felt like I was drunk
City lights lay out before us
And your arms felt nice wrapped around my shoulders and
I-I had a feeling that I belonged
I-I had a feeling I could be someone, be someone, be someone

[Verse 4]
You got a fast car
We go cruising to entertain ourselves
You still ain't got a job
I work in a market as a checkout girl
I know things will get better
You'll find work and I'll get promoted
We'll move out of the shelter
Buy a bigger house and live in the suburbs

[Chorus]
So I remember when we were driving
Driving in your car
Speed so fast it felt like I was drunk
City lights lay out before us
And your arms felt nice wrapped around my shoulders and
I-I had a feeling that I belonged
I-I had a feeling I could be someone, be someone, be someone

[Verse 5]
You got a fast car
I've got a job that pays all our bills
You stay out drinking late at the bars
See more your friends than you do your kids
I always hoped for better
That maybe together you and me would find it
I got no plans I ain't going nowhere
So take your fast car and keep on driving

[Chorus]
So remember when we were driving
Driving in your car
Speed so fast it felt like I was drunk
City lights lay out before us
And your arms felt nice wrapped around my shoulders and
I-I had a feeling that I belonged
I-I had a feeling I could be someone, be someone, be someone

[Outro]
You got a fast car
Is it fast enough so you can fly away?
You gotta make a decision
Leave tonight or live and die this way


Thanks for tuning in.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Ohhh, so cool! Very pretty and well done! I love this song, Tracey Chapman is so badass.

Cheers!
♥- Serena

Thank you!

I think I'll get better at with time, make it sound more smooth, but I'm glad to add this tune to my collection :)

I met her on two different occasions

That's pretty cool. I'd hope she's as humble as her music.

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

You got a 32.96% upvote from @moneymatchgaming courtesy of @ukuleletutorials! Please consider upvoting this post to help support the MMG Competitive Gaming Community.

Welcome to Open Mic.

steemit_open_mic_thank_you_for_playing.png

this is one of my all time favorite songs..... ever.... loved hearing this on the uk. very cool my friend. big love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94