Steemit Open Mic Week 69 - Original Song - "The Milwaukee Song" played lap-style in open G tuning w a metal slide

in #openmic6 years ago

The Milwaukee Song

Was written in 2003 while "living" in Milwaukee, losing it at Packers Games, homeless in my truck, nationally binge touring with a 3rd tier rock/funk band --- wouldn't wish it on anyone.

As songwriting goes, I used the song, "Amazing Grace", as a template and springboard for the structure of Milwaukee Song. The simplicity and strength of the Amazing Grace melody with it's I IV V chord progression was the study.

At this time I was heavy into Americana and having had my left hand in a cast for 4 months for bursitis and RMS (3 bands and a bad Gibson neck took me OUT!) I used the time to learn how to play lap style.

THANK YOU beyond words to the OPENMIC community for what this is doing for the creative process, both mine and yours. This is so important and personally has boosted my energy and optimism. Just thank you for this venue. I will get better at participating. Any tips are appreciated. I've been so isolated for so many years it's difficult to keep up with all the social media even here but I will try harder. Peace

This tuning is in OPEN G -D, G, D, G, B, D- but I tune down a half step (for singing range) so it's really in Gb.

CHORDS: G C D Bb Em

Came to this town
Met a lot of people
But I never felt so alone
Rented a room west of old Milwaukee river
Waiting for you to come home

Hanging out on Brady Street
Pan-handlers at my feet
Signs on the windows tell me what to believe
Get a cup of coffee
Shoot a game of pool
Come on Milwaukee! Give me some room to move.

First summer months
Slept in a pickup truck
Played this guitar at Camp Kettle Moraine
My ship's on the rocks
All promises forgot(ten)
Throw the anchor or I'll float away

You don't have to look too far
To get to that corner bar
I drown my sorrows by the Lake
Get a cup of coffee
Shoot a game of pool
Come on Milwaukee! Give me some room to move.

steemit_open_mic_week_69.png

Sort:  

@tonypapa I love country rock songs. You have an awesome voice and the song is awesome. I'll check your Steemit from time to time for new songs. Thanks for sharing :)

I appreciate the listen and comment! Thanks, every bit of encouragement helps to get back in and create!

Much gratitude towards your time spent here, thank you

Amazing!!! I love this so much.

This is what I call a rendition .

Howdy do @tonypapa

Cheers

Thanks so much! Practiced all week.

Thank you! coming from a fellow ax man means a lot...

Always great to see you here! I hope you are well!

You were really top notch on this one Tony.

Really means a lot, and great to meet you here.

Thank you for taking the time here!

hey bro your technical is so different and so good @tonypapa

Wow, thanks, (love your screen name btw), spent a year living/playing in Nashville, TN and picked up some tips from the pedal/lap steel players.

Nice! Will definitely take part in this.

The more the merrier for sure, get on in here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86