STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 60 - Original Song - "Memorial Day"

in #openmic7 years ago

This is my first entry to Steemit Open Mic and already loving this space!

This song was written very quickly sitting in the upstairs bedroom of an old empty house. Feelings of confusion in so many people's lives crystallized in one tome crying out for catharsis. Something like that.

Memorial Day (short version)
(tony papa)

INTRO: 2/4 F C

C F C
I gotta pack heat. I gotta be strong.
I can't trust anyone yet I've got to belong.
There's a reason for living. I guess it's my kids.
Go get my masters, spend less time with them.

F Am C
I…………………………………..He….. She.
F Am C
I…………………………………..He and She.

C F
You look at me often like I shouldn't a' been born.
And you taught me to second guess what I've always known.
I've heard have no judgement and then you'll be saved.
I wonder what we've done to deserve all the blame?

F C
I…………………………don't…………know.
F C
I…………………………don't…………know.

Chorus F C
Give me a window. Somewhere I can look out.
G |Am |G |F | | | |
Give me a view to stifle my shout.
F C
Cause I'm just a worker. I just do what I'm told.
G |Am |G |F | |
And then I turn into a tyrant when my fit hit home.
C
When my feet hit home.

C F C
I've heard have no judgement on holidays.
My mind needs a rest from You, This and That.
Religion's the dollar. The churches got taller.
At the Simplest Level it's just SUN and RAIN.

F Am C
Oh…Now…..I………………….…………know.
F Am C
Oh…Now…..I……………………………grow.

Sort:  

The versus are quite Dylan-esk to my ear, and overall, a rather good song and performance package, brother! NICE!

Thanks so much for the kind words! Been waiting 2 years to get this one out. Original is slow and in 3/4 w slide guitar (couldn't pull it off live) so had to bluegrass it up.

You sound really good. Welcome. Hope to hear more from you soon.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks for all you do. Let me know if there's more I can do for the cause.

We appreciate the support and thanks for entering. You could tell your friends about Open Mic and musicians you know personally or on Facebook groups.

really great performance my friend i love the song, the playing is fantastic and the high notes in the bridge sooo great love the singing

I'm sincerely honored and inspired - much needed thank you. Your page looks sweet - following

Kick-ass song man! I really dig this folk style.

I checked your entry out - strong song! - glad you connected and thank you for the kind words!

Thank you so much for the listen!

Congratulations @tonypapa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41