Steemit openmic week 77, @timothybusker song: Shape of my heart, written by Sting.

in #openmic6 years ago


Hi the first video I uploaded was malfunktioning somehow. Now I hope it will work and that my entry is valid even though I kinda posted the same thing twice.

I recorded this on my phone but sang through my PA-system to get a little reverb.

The song is call "Shape of my heart" and its written by Sting.
Lyrics:
He deals the cards as a meditation
And those he plays never suspect
He doesn't play for the money he wins
He don't play for respect
He deals the cards to find the answer
The sacred geometry of chance
The hidden law of a probable outcome
The numbers lead a dance
I know that the spades are the swords of a soldier
I know that the clubs are weapons of war
I know that diamonds mean money for this art
But that's not the shape of my heart
He may play the jack of diamonds
He may lay the queen of spades
He may conceal a king in his hand
While the memory of it fades
I know that the spades are the swords of a soldier
I know that the clubs are weapons of war
I know that diamonds mean money for this art
But that's not the shape of my heart
That's not the shape
The shape of my heart
If I told her that I loved you
You'd maybe think there's something wrong
I'm not a man of too many faces
The mask I wear is one
But those who speak know nothing
And find out to their cost
Like those who curse their luck in too many places
And those who fear are lost
I know that the spades are the swords of a soldier
I know that the clubs are weapons of war
I know that diamonds mean money for this art
But that's not the shape of my heart
That's not the shape of my heart
That's not the shape
The shape of my heart

A big thanks to all the judges and sponsors who make this openmic possible!

With love and respect
@timothybusker

Sort:  

Yeah! This one works! And I'm so happy to hear it. SO good! It's so beautiful the way you sing. I really mean it. You even heavily remind me at times of James Taylor. That's pretty rare because he is James Freaking Taylor, but I swear at times it's like you could be brothers. You make it look nearly effortless to sound so good.

Sidenote, I am always so angsty when I see people doing barre chords all up and down the neck like that so well. I can't do those. I just am at the mercy of a lowly capo.

Okay, well I just wanted to say well done and hell yeah and stuff and now I'm talking about capos and my own ridiculous inadequacies! I'll talk to you later.. More videos please!

There is nothing inadequite in your music to my ears! I would much rather listen to simple easy to play music played with feeling then something difficult or impressive played without it! And baby you got tons of feeling <3

Thanks for listening and for doin all this! <3

That was really nice!

Excellent rendition, brother! Nice!

Thanks brother!

You have a talent for steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36