You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: OpenMic Night Contest Week 4: "Back To Black" [Amy Winehouse Ukulele Cover]

in #openmic8 years ago (edited)

This is amazing. I never realised how awesome a songwriter Amy was before her death.

Your version is just as powerful.

I think this song has a pain to it that we have all felt in love with someone who takes advantage of us - even the most successful people romantically have felt this pain.

That is why this is such a perfect song.

Also one would think that a ukulele would somehow diminish the melancholic tone of the song but it fits just perfectly. I got shivers just listening to you play it and singing. It was so powerful.

Simply beautiful. I hope everyone listens to this.

You are so talented.

Sort:  

@thecryptofiend Wow. I am incredibly humbled by your compliments, and very much feel the same way about Amy's songs. I feel...well, completely and utterly humbled that you felt my version was as powerful. Thank you so much.

Also--when I put the uke to it, I wasn't sure how that would be received, but I liked the contrast of tones and felt that it almost shed a spotlight on the pain in the lyrics.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thank you again.

Edit: If the promotion was also you, thank you so much. Humbled again.

Yes it was me with the promotion. Totally deserved I just hope it makes a difference.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47