You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week 43 - City or Town (Original Song)

in #openmic7 years ago

Upped. I'm a little late to the party but just wanted to support your post. That's a really lovely and flowing fingerstyle you've got going there. I've recently been taking lessons to improve my technique. Does it take a lot of conscious effort to apply it to your compositions or does it come naturally once you've got a few patterns under your belt?

Sort:  

Thanks man! Yeah, once I learnt a few patterns so the picking hand can pretty much operate independently, it really just happens when I have an idea that seems to suit it. This song was written for strumming, but I changed it to finger-style very recently.

It's so automatic that if I try to play it slowly, or think about what my fingers are doing, it normally goes wrong!

Cool that's interesting to know. I know what you mean about thinking about it too much. It's good to have these things down as second nature though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68598.13
ETH 2704.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72