Steemit Open Mic Week 55 - Cobracoustic (cover) - performance by @the-vile-maxim

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone! I am pretty new to steemit, and I am blown away by the active community. I just recently found out about this open mic contest, and figured it would be the perfect opportunity to start putting myself out there more and get used to stepping out of my comfort zone.

I love music. I love listening to it. I love making it. It is one of my life's true passions, and I am very excited to see this type of interaction happening right here on my new favorite platform.

This is my cover of "Cobracoustic" by the Cobraskulls. I hope you enjoy it, I love this song. :)

Lyrics:

When I walk the streets of Cairo
I empathize as I go
And I feel ashamed of the land from where I came
Ashamed of where I came
Where we think different people
Are the ones that harbor evil
But you gotta think harder 'cuz we're all the same
Think harder cuz we're all the same.

Stop fearing people before you meet them
And don't keep enemies until you must defeat them

My country love it or leave it
Well that's shit and I don't believe it
A decaying standard and it's begging for change
The standard is begging for change

Freedom is relative, I feel relatively free where I live
But down in Cairo, it's not our's to give
Down in Cairo freedom's not our's to give

So stop fearing people before you meet them
And don't keep enemies until you must defeat them

With our birds up high, and their sons below
You don't know where every bomb will blow
With their sons below, and our birds up high
Are we made to be friends in heaven when we die?

Stop fearing people before you meet them
And don't keep enemies until you must defeat them

When I walk the streets of Cairo
I empathize as I go
And I feel ashamed of the land from where I came.

Sort:  

Well played and excellent song choice. I wish more people understood the message.

Welcome to steemit! Great performance, I think you'll do well on here. :) Good luck to you!

Well played. Sounds great.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Wow, thanks @luzcypher! I appreciate you listening, and organizing this!

Great maiden entry, man... Sounds good!

I really enjoyed this great work

Thanks a lot! I really appreciate that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88