Open Mic Week 53: To Be Without You

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steem People!

Good to be back after an awesome week of Open Mic. The One-Year Anniversary was a smash hit in my opinion. Much respect for all the talent out there. One more shout out to @luzcypher and @pfunk for making all this happen!

This week, I've been listening to more Ryan Adams again. He really is a great singer/songwriter and is spot on with piercing the emotion of country with the flexibility of any music genre. This song is called "To Be Without You" off his new album.

I try to capture a more folk-feel with my arrangement. He has a great base-picking feel to this song, and I just jammed it out and let the power of the Talkin' Blues fuse with some country-folk-rock.  Maybe he can take a few tips from my version haha. Hope everyone enjoys.



Feel free to follow for more posts on music/health/science/travel/and more


Have a great start to your week!


Sort:  

Loved your picking here along with the guitar and vocal melodies... A bit Dylan-esk - and so well suited to your range... Love it!

Thanks man. Yeah I think there will be a Dylan influence in almost everything I do. I'm listening to a lot of early 60s Dylan which is really Woody Guthrie-ish as well. The picking style takes awhile to feel comfortable with, and I'm starting to get there thankfully.

All I got to say is, "keep on it Doc" - cause you "rock" like nobodies business!

That was really cool. Love the lyrics.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks man. His new album is awesome. Just felt like I had to play that song so that is exactly what I did haha.

I don't know the original so I can't compare it, but your version sounds nice! I've enjoyed your Dylan covers and there fore I tend to hear a little Dylan in your other songs. But that's a good thing! Thanks for sharing, my friend!

Haha thanks for listening. I think listening to Dylan my whole life has shaped my voice. I really like songs with a cool baseline. Hope you are well!

I was unaware he was still putting anything out. Cool songwriter and you did a great job.

Thanks! Yeah he really came out with a good one this year.

I need to check that out, I've always liked his songwriting

You should just get out there and do Dylan Tribute...you got the vocal chops!!!

I missed this comment! Thanks brother brimax!

My pleasure Dr. "T"!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60578.94
ETH 2625.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54