Open Mic Week 37: Car Song (A Good Laugh For A Lonely Sunday!).

in #openmic7 years ago

Hey Steem Troops!


I'm back again for Week 37 and with some more Woody Guthrie! I get in music moods, and folk/flat picking is my current thing! Blues will probably always be my favorite, but folky type songs are up there. 

My musical passion began when I became a raging Dylan fan. Through Dylan, I discovered the magical sound and life of the legendary Woody Guthrie. Best known for "This Land is Your Land" but he has hundreds (maybe thousands) of great songs. 

This cover is really FUN (you will have to watch the video to see what I mean!). I hope you all enjoy. This song is called "Car Song." 



**In the video I meant to say Week 37!  Sorry about that, I am not from the past ;). It is getting harder to keep these weeks straight! 


I really hope you all enjoy, and if you dig the songs of Guthrie, I suggest you read one of my all time favorite books, Bound For Glory (an autobiography of his hard travelin,' riding the freight trains during the dustbowl/Great Depression). A real masterpiece for people who enjoy writing that makes you think!


I will leave with a Woody Guthrie quote

I hate a song that makes you think that you are not any good. I hate a song that makes you think that you are just born to lose. Bound to lose. No good to nobody. No good for nothing. Because you are too old or too young or too fat or too slim or too ugly or too this or too that. Songs that run you down or poke fun at you on account of your bad luck or hard travelling. I am out to fight those songs to my very last breath of air and my last drop of blood. I am out to sing songs that will prove to you that this is your world and that if it has hit you pretty hard and knocked you for a dozen loops, no matter what color, what size you are, how you are built, I am out to sing the songs that make you take pride in yourself and in your work.

See link (1) 


I hope you enjoyed my cover of "Car Song!!!"


Feel free to follow me for more posts on music/health/science/travel! 


I am a family medicine physician, have a passion for music, travel, collecting antiques, bowling, and whatever new hobby I can pick up!


Sources:

1) https://www.goodreads.com/author/quotes/57836.Woody_Guthrie



Sort:  

You are the man Brother T.
I love the "Lip Gazoo"!

Thanks brother. If you play this song, it will guarantee to put a smile on your face haha. There is no end to this kind of music.

I may have to try it.....

You can do it! The tricky part is keeping with the base-strum while doing the ridiculous noise haha.

lol. That's all I got. Nice to meet you, sir.

glad you enjoyed!

:)

That was entertaining! Maybe you could sing this to your nervous younger patients as they come in for care? Thanks for sharing!

Not a bad idea. Haha that would be funny. Thanks for listening!

Nice one.

Thanks brother! This is a song that everyone has to try once in their life haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49