Open Mic Week 35: Counting Gray Hairs (Original)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steem People,


I just got back from my three-week Journey in Brazil. It was awesome, and I will be posting Week-3 photos soon.

I was really bummed out that I missed my first open-mic in a long time because I just didn't have a chance in Brazil last week!

This week I am coming back with a new original! I came up with this melody right before leaving for Brazil. The melody was kind of a sad one... so I wrote it about getting older haha. Hence the name, "Counting Gray Hairs"....(yes I have a few myself!).



Here are the lyrics to my new song!


"Counting Gray Hairs"


You don’t have to tell me 

How the clock moves now

Looking in the mirror 

I don’t see me here 


Time used to stand still 

I was caught in the fun 

What is left

Are the memories that are done 


Chorus:

Counting Gray Hairs 

Counting Gray Hairs 


This is the part 

Where I play the wisdom bid

But how can I, 

When I’m still the teenage kid 


Bridge (instrumental) 


Here’s a smile for the young ones 

A cheers to the invincible 

For what you can’t imagine 

Will become the inevitable principle 


Chorus


Hope you all enjoy! Feel free to follow me for more posts on music/medicine/health/travel!

Thanks! 


Special thanks to @luzcypher and @pfunk for keeping this party (openmic) going. It just doesn't stop, has made me a better musician/performer, and the party keeps getting bigger! 



Sort:  

sweeeet!!!! fantastic my friend very very good

It feels like forever! Thanks for listenening in as usual! Really appreciate it. I had a fun time writing this one.

Sweet! The guitar sounds great on this take. The mic was in the sweet spot for sure. You should make a mental note of where the mic was placed in relation to the guitar when you recorded this because it is the right spot for sure.
Cool song too.

I usually use my computer as a "stand" for my phone so it would be hard to remember my exact position in relation to the phone. Glad you enjoyed man! Thanks for listening. I am getting really into playing a lot of base in the songs now!

The guitar sound really good.

👏👏👏👏 Very talented singer and songwriter!

Brigado garota. Um beso y abrazo grande!

Never forget that I don't speak Spanish haha

ABRAÇOS E BEIJOS

Amazing lyrics, so deep and well thought out bro, you showed your songwriting prowess with this structured set of pondering phrases. Nice guitar strumming and your singing is passionate as always. Glad you have returned from Brazil safely, I am sure you miss it already, keep the jamming nonstop Blues man!

I had a dream I was thinking about buying things in their currency haha so it must have been a long time.

Thanks for the compliments on the lyrics. It has been quite awhile since I wrote a song not for steem and it was a lot of fun. Good job too and best of luck as always!

You are most welcome bro appreciate that

Welcome back Brother. Looks like some Brazilian influence made it into your playing in a short time. Great job Brother!

Missed you brother! Thanks as always for the listen...and yeah that bridge had some latin influence for sure...then I got lost in the blues for a second only to return to the theme haha.

Glad you made it back safely, always look forward to your entries!

Liked this one, very strong.

Thanks man! Worked hard on it. Cheers. Thanks for listening.

Nice one. I like your performance.

Glad you enjoyed. Thanks for taking the time for a listen.

Nice song. I like the minor feel. And yes, I can relate to the words. :)

Thanks for taking the time to listen! It was a fun melody to create.

Killing it as usual!! Good luck mate

Thanks man it's good to be back.

YES!

Thanks for the listen. I had fun as usual!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23