Open Mic Week 25: I'll Never Get Out of These Blues Alive

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steem FOLK!


Getting excited for the next round of open mic...the 25th WEEK! Congrats to the winners of this week! Every week we have to step it up a bar because everyone is bringing the heat! 


Much respect to all who participate! Thanks @pfunk for the original music bonus! With the price of Steem going up, that is getting expensive.... I really appreciate it! 



This week I'm doing a cover by John Lee Hooker with a lot of improvising/making up lyrics haha. This song "I'll Never Get out of These Blues Alive" is a really DEEP kind of blues. Nice and slow so you can feel all the emotions. A very fun song for me to play, and I hope you enjoy! 


For those wanting to learn the blues, I think this song is really an essential 12-bar blues classic! Maybe not a really famous song but one that really sums up the heart of the blues. 


Thanks and feel free to follow me for more medical posts and music!



Sort:  

Killer rendition of one of my heroes -- you captured the feel and style perfectly. def +1 brother

Thanks man....it was sure fun....when I start playing the blues...hours go by and then its bed time haha. Thanks for listening in! Once you hit those first blues notes you are hooked!

inspiration from the blues bar....awww jealousy... love it as always. that tfeldman flavor. much love, really loved your voice in this one

If you are ever in Indianapolis check out the "Slippery Noodle" the oldest bar in Indiana...and pure blues! Thanks for the feedback and praise as always. Keep it up!

and the Guitar man is back with another bang!

Thank you! Trying to bring the SOUL

John LEE Hooker is just the best! THANK YOU for this post!

Thanks! It was fun! Appreciate the listen! A master to say the least!

Saw and met Hooker 2 weeks before he died. He was so old he could barely get on and off the stage but man he could still play.

One thing is for sure....he never got out of the blues alive haha! By far my favorite blues performer. Not my favorite guitarist, but the blues is about the whole package. With a foot and guitar he could always be a one man band...He summed up the BLUES!

Yes, he did. By the time I saw him play he could only play that 2-note hammer-on and pull-off lick he always did in the key of E, but I could listen to him play that all night long and be happy. Soul pouring out of him as it did you in this performance. Nice one.

THANK YOU! Some people exercise to pour out emotion...I prefer to play the blues haha.

Nice blues song choice bro. You nailed this one. Thoroughly enjoyed all the way through from start to finish. Nice mellowing out start to my shaky, stammering morning blues lol Guitar playing is luring and your singing really is complimentary. Best of luck to your entry. Upvoted

Thank you for the feedback. Glad it made your morning more tolerable haha! I have my blues moments. Just had to JAM one this week. Good slow blues for others to pick up on the feel of a 12-bar.

You're welcome, yes it improved my morning, and definitely enjoyed the jam.

Some really great feel, well done brother!

Thanks man! I challenge another to a BLUES DUEL! haha.

Here comes some Jethro Tull....

Very cool, I enjoyed it, UP voted!

And now I'll admit I listened to some of it at 2x speed :-) I'm a pretty big fan of thrash and speed metal so I kicked this up and it sounded like classic Led Zep. \m/ Hope you don't think less of me for playing around with the playback speed!

not at all. I didn't realize how long it was while playing....haha now I want to see it in two-speed.

I love your "blues squint." Great version man, really dig it.

Thank you man! Signature squint

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60675.97
ETH 3383.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52