Open Mic Week 24: Original Bluegrass Violin Tune

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hey Open Micers and Rest of Steem People!


Today, I am changing it up a little on the open mic contest! I wrote in a very early post that I was a violin player in high school. Even traveled to Europe once with my high school to play in little Italian and Greek towns, which was an awesome experience. 


I started playing violin in first grade and played a lot up until college. My skills have for sure taken a plunge since that time, but I still got a little juice left! I love my violin, and it is from the 1890s!!! It is terrible for a wood instrument to lay in its case for too long! I decided to get the dust off it tonight. I wrote an original tune called "Down On The Farm." Kind of a bluegrass tune. Hope all enjoy 



It's not perfectly in tune because the stings keep moving on me... need to restring this beast! 


I think collaborating on violin would be awesome... like accompany someone on violin. In college I did a little of that. 


Take care guys and thanks for listening 


KEEP IT REAL! 



Sort:  

This was simply great bro. Enjoyed it completely, and you added a nice variety to the open mic contest with this one. MY daughter @happyharmonymay's first reaction when you started playing was a high energetic burst of laughter. She was so thrilled to see your violin skills. Her exact words were "I like the violin. Look at what he is doing!" Then she proceeded to get my wife to come and watch your performance while she dance to the nodding of your head while you played lol Best of luck to your entry, Upvoted

Thank you so much man. I'm glad your daughter enjoyed! I thought mixing it up would be good. I remembered when I was young I wanted to play because I was intrigued with the whole instrument. Maybe she should play! Warning...it is an expensive instrument haha and is hard so can be very frustrating. Kind of like golf haha.

You're most welcome bro, I'll consider violin but I would love to introduce to harmony harp playing :)

A very hard instrument!

Nice fiddlin! Loved it +1

Thank you sir! Good to get out this antique instrument!

Nice horse hair action! Thanks brother

Well deserved last week. I'm really liking the addition of the microphone makes me want to get one. I need that reverbbbb. Thanks for the support.

Well, I upvoted you for sure. I'm impressed.

Haha thanks. I knew I was going to play another instrument just didn't know when...thought it was a good change-up. I still have to get the mandolin going too. The mandolin is the same strings as the violin. Violin is obviously much harder because there are no frets. A fraction of a millimeter off puts you out of tune.

A downvote was applied to partially counter earlier whale votes as an experiment to reduce whale domination of voting influence. Not intended to express an opinion on the content nor result in a net reduction of rewards or reputation (automated notice)

It was literally posted 10 minutes ago....Is this just like an automatic if a certain upstanding steemian votes for me? I thought this was some pretty original stuff myself. Obviously you don't appreciate the "fine arts." Won't let it get my night down though. Got the open micers to back me up!

There is an experiment going on to reduce the amount of very high powered concentrated voting, so voters in general gain more influence. The automated downvote on your post was mild and only enough to reduce the effect of an earlier, also likely automated, upvote. The same rewards are being distributed, but voting is flatter with the distribution determined more by broader popularity rather the choices of a few people/bots. I hope this helps you understand what is going on.

I think we just need to find a different voting curve in general.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62