Open Mic Week 23: Caves of My Mind (@soundlegion cover!)

in #openmic8 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians!


I'm back for Week 23! I'm looking forward to this new week of songs.


Today, I wanted to do something a little different. One of our fellow members @soundlegion has really brought much musical creativity to this platform and has written a lot of awesome songs!


I downloaded one of her albums called "Acoustic Sessions," which I thought was great. The last song on the album was "Caves of My Mind." You can see a post dedicated to this whole album with freedom to download here.


When hearing the song, I realized that I play so much I could just hear what chords she was playing so I decided to cover it! I think this would be a great thing for others to try! If you like a song of a member from Steem and want to promote his or her music, then give it a try! Luckily, I figured our the tune pretty quickly. Here is my cover of her song "Caves of My Mind."





My version has a more "Talkin' Folk style" with some improvising between the verses. I always think a cover should add new elements to a song or there is no reason to cover it! The words are slightly different in my version as well. 


To promote her music and also pay tribute to her great songwriting for this, half of the SBD/STEEM will go to her as well as if there is prize money! It was also her birthday yesterday so even more reason to! 


Hope everyone enjoys my version. Don't forget to check out her account on Steem and her music from the link I provided above.


I'm working 6 days a week currently so I hope to write a medical blog soon.... hopefully sooner than later. 


CHEERS! 




Sort:  

@tfeldman I am so honored by this I cant even express it. I love what you did with it, so very cool, the guitar work was great, and I really liked the folksy talk singing, with that swag you got. very awesome.... huge huge ups to you

Thanks! Really impressive song here. Happy Birthday too! Sorry for butchering the lyrics a little. I heard the song a few times but I didn't want to read off something to play it. The only change to the lyrics I liked in this version is I like "the void echos in my mind" versus "all day" haha.

Cheers!

Wonderful song friend, @tfeldman did it justice, now I will go check out the original. What a way to promote one another, especially as an entry to the openmic. Really cool to see the musical camaraderie, respect and support for one another.

Thanks man! It was a lot of fun! Now I have to give her some of these big bucks when I get off work haha. I am for sure ready to collaborate whenever I have the time! Appreciate you listening in as always buddy.

you are so awesome mister, thanks a ton! hit me on skype in the next month soundslike.shavon soon as im back in america we should do an online open mic collab. :) got a few ideas, just need some time.

That would be awesome! I'm just wondering if there would be lag.... but hopefully two good connections would make it work! It would be great seeing you back on open mic as well! I'm glad you liked the song. Have a great time before you head back to the states!

It was fun for sure! Especially to put a little musical twist on it. I think as a musical community it would be neat to do some more collaborative work. The music is in my mind we just have to record it. I don't know if skype would have a delay to make it impossible to jam. That would be cool though.

Great idea, you may be onto something!

There's got to be the technology to do an online jam....haha

Very nice cover bro, I thoroughly enjoyed this. Your guitar playing with improv in both singing and strumming was a nice combination. @soundlegion definitely created a wonderful song to cover. I also enjoyed your folksy talk singing on this one as well and your bass-voice was spot on for this one in particular. Best of luck to your entry. Upvoted

Glad you liked liked it. @soundlegion for sure wrote a killer song. I started out trying to play it like her but then felt that arranging it differently also sticks with the theme of artistic creativity here on open mic. I'm glad that my version compliments her song as well! Yeah I agree that my vocal range was better on this one...still have to check out the YouTube video.

Nice job on this one bud. and Ya @soundlegion has great music.

thanks man!

I really like that you are bold enough to work out an arrangement for another artists song. Great job, sounds like @soundlegion liked it as well. Another upvote!
Brother B

Thanks for listening! I didn't know I was going to arrange it a lot differently....most of the time I just kind of wing things. When I started playing the song I naturally went into my talkin' style, and I was like "that should do the trick" haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72