Open Mic Week 22: Original—"Just Like All The Rest"

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steem People!



I am back again with an original this week called "Just Like All The Rest." This is a song I wrote about 3 years ago right during the beginning of medical school. 


I was inspired to write this song when I started feeling that people can be very "fake" sometimes. It is a rather dark song, but I think it ends with optimism...that there is more to life than the superficial!



I see a lot of people posting their lyrics so I will here!


"Just Like All The Rest"


Closed eyes, trip from the past 

"Fake" highs, love doesn't last 

Words said, on empty promises 

Fools led, by flashy princesses 


Chorus: She's evil, and you know it (repeated) 


Eyes open, world ahead 

Try coping, brains of lead 

Open future, possibilities are endless...

Just a new future, just hollowlessness  (made up word haha)


Chorus 2: World's hollow and you know it (repeated)


Bridge: 

Sitting around here...thinking....about all this sh*t

I couldn't think of a better thing to do...with myself!

Now, that you're JUST LIKE, ALL THE REST  (hence, the title)

Just sitting here by myself


Feet walkin' smile on my face 

Empty talking, heart in a case 

Mind racing, action bound 

No action, feet glued to the ground


Chorus 3: There's got to be more, and I know it (repeated) 


This song is a couple minutes longer than the original because I wanted to JAM for open mic...part of being double original is to add more to what was already original in the first place. As my guitar skills improve, I can add new ideas. My inspiration comes from my fellow open mickers!


Thanks, and I hope you all enjoyed! 


Until next time! 


Feel free to follow for more music/health related posts....or whatever else inspires me!


 

Sort:  

love love the photo absolutely fantastic energy! You just put huge smiles on my face. When you first started playing the song it sounded like that tune blister in the sun by violent femms. Great work, love your voice and mostly your vibe just swag. woot

Thanks, I found that photo on Facebook and thought it was funny haha. Yeah to me mine sounds more grunge at the beginning. The chorus has a similar rhythm to Fire on the Mountain by greatful dead. The original recording doesn't but this jam version does. Thanks for the feedback, keep up the heat!

the way you work that guitar.......Too Smoooth

I'm working on it! Appreciate the compliment. The chords contain the melody....just mess around with the surrounding notes and the melody comes out.

Another great job. Upvote from me!

Thanks sir! Dig your tune too!

Thank you brother!

Nice original song bro, the lyrics do indeed ring of truth of this world we live in. People definitely can be fake without a doubt, so we gotta stay sharp and true to ourselves and our loved ones. This is a good entry for sure and the lyrics are well written with precision and I'm appreciative of you providing the lyrics. I would hope all artists do the same, I love to read along. Best of luck to your entry. Upvoted

One good thing about Steem: free-thinkers and in my opinion "less fakeness" around us! Glad you liked it and best of luck to you as well!

Thank you very much bro, and I agree, a lot of free thinkers here and it allows for great dialogues, collaborations and discussions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68362.52
ETH 3747.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66