Open Mic Week 21: Take Me To The River—Blues Jam

in #openmic8 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemers!


Hope everyone had a great weekend. I'm back for Week 21 with an Al Green cover called "Take Me To The River." It has been covered by many musicians, and my favorite version is the more bluesy version by Talking Heads. I made it even MORE bluesy in my version! 



I basically just started jamming. I for sure make plenty of mistakes in this 6 minute jam, but I didn't want to edit it. It's a raw first take kind of blues. Thinking of musical ideas as I am playing...like a practice session that Steem is in on!


Hope all enjoy! Thanks for all the continued support. 


Stay posted for more music/health related posts!


Until next time, and congrats to all the winners last week!

Sort:  

Nice entry... I hope that you do not take offense, and I know that you don't have the hairstyle, but this is what your beard always reminds me of.

PLANET OF THE APES - And... for the record, I still like it!

Haha I will take it as a compliment. I have the Irish leprechaun strap beard haha. Thanks for listening to the jam!

I always enjoy your enthusiasm, your grooving vibes when you're jamming out hard on the guitar freestyling ideas into the cover of your choice. As I said before, your passion is unmatched. This song is uniquely flavorful and the guitar strumming makes it hard not to groove to it. However, your singing gets real pitchy, probably because you're so in the zone and getting drifted into the waves of the music. Sorry it took me so long to give feedback, I've been pressed for time these past two weeks. Upvoted

Thanks for the feedback man! This is a really fun song to groove to. I totally agree with the vocal part. I actually have a decent voice with a lower pitch but when I get excited it's too tempting to sing higher haha (where I go out of my range). Keep up the fire, which you seem to be doing quite well in my opinion!

I also figured out the video problem causing the motion so I think there should be less of that problem moving forward

Oh That's great to hear about the motion in your videos. Glad you figured it out bro, and yes you definitely have a more baritone bassy range, and if you want to strengthen your falsetto, there are definitely some warm up and practice techniques to utilize, which you can find easily on youtube. Thanks for the encouragement as always, the fire is lit, just kindling it with a bit of dry sticks of inspiration I find here and there lol Hope I stumble across a fallen tree soon.

I will check that out now that I am a live entertainer haha.

Nice bro, you definitely should!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51