Open Mic Week 19: Original Song- "Ode To Cancun"

in #openmic8 years ago (edited)

Hey Steem People!


Congrats to the winners of Open Mic Week 18! I am back with an original this week that I wrote back in college. This one is called "Ode to Cancun." My family got a timeshare back in 1990, and I have been there around 25 times. 


The least I could do was write a song about it haha! Hope all enjoy. 



Have a great day and feel free to follow me for music/health/science posts!



Sort:  

I love it so much! Great playing and the singing is fantastic great attitude, made me laugh when you said meyhico! woo! I need you over here! we would have fun.

Thank you! I forgot some of the lyrics and had to improvise a little during it...but it was a fun song to write. Thanks for watching! I agree, your voice/guitar would be a great addition. It would be a jam session.

proper my friend!! I def read the vibes on you, would be a killer jam sesh

That's messed up, I could have sworn I had commented to this masterpiece. I really enjoyed the guitar playing on this one indeed bro. One of my favorite musical compositions of yours and how you presented it. Very nostalgic in the vibes and brings me good vibes and memories of traveling with my aunt. Thanks again, up voted.

Thanks man! Yeah this song was one of the most fun to write. Cancun is an awesome place and I tried to capture that feeling in this song. It's a song meant to be played on a beach with a nice refreshing beer haha.

You're welcome bro, I definitely got that feeling, it creates that setting and vibe for sure.

Very nice! Upvoted. Talent dude!

Thanks for the support! It was fun writing this 6 years ago and still fun to play it now.

I have lived in Cancun for 10 years and am planning to move back to Playa Del Carmen this spring.

I wrote my reply below your comment haha.

Awesome man! I've also been to Merida, which is an awesome place. Probably the best sea food I have ever had was in the capital of the Yucatán. I have a blast each time I go. We stay at the royal sunset. The early days were better in Cancun but it will always be a legendary place for me!

I know Merida too, awesome place. And I worked at the Royal Sunset for a while. Small world.

Small world indeed! Love that hotel. Not the biggest or fanciest...but one of the original ones. It has one of the best beach spots for sure. Waves are really nice there.

Nice job and congrats on the win!

Thank you for the support. It was a lot of fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58415.58
ETH 2485.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39