Open Mic Song Writers Challenge Week 2/Open Mic Week 62: Original Blues- Lost and Found

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemers!

I'm back for Week 61 of Open Mic and starting in the amazing Open Mic Songwriters Challenge Week 2. I wanted to write a blues song because most of these song themes sound very depressing haha. I had a lot of fun writing this and hope everyone can share in the energy of this one. The full song is called "Lost and Found (Blues-E in an Unorthodox Manner)"

I am typically a freestyle man when it comes to the BLUES, but for this one I put in the time to organize something. When you play the blues you have to jam too, which is still there. I** also attempted to make an unorthodox blues progression with multiple turnaround elements. I have provided the chords as well as the progression so that others can learn to play too.

Lyrics/Chords

Lost and Found (Blues-E in an unorthodox manner)

G
I was lost when my baby left me
Didn’t care if I was soft or something

A
I cried like a little child when my baby left me
Didn’t care if I was soft or something

G

Turnaround
Yeah, she found a new—and left me with nothing

G
By the Mercy of God I was found
In the dark, soul put-on-loan

A
Thank God I was found
In the dark, soul put-on-loan

G
Like it wasn’t even my own (under breath)

Turnaround
I can’t tell where I’m bound
May as well look, in the lost and found

G
She could love good, oh yes I know

A
She could love strong Lord sometimes too strong, yes I know

Turnaround
She had a mean kiss filled with bliss
Make a man have a heart attack

Turnaround
But it takes pain to be sane
In this world full of misery, Im back

Triple Time Turnaround!
Without my woman or heart around
Makes a man go looking in the lost and found

It's an honor to be in both of these contests and I respect all the feedback.

Cheers, have a great weekend!

Feel free to follow for more posts on music/health/science/travel, and more.

A big shout out out to @luzcypher @meno @soundlegion @pfunk @passion-ground for working hard keeping these two contests going and for just keeping-it-real! JAM ON!

Sort:  

Yes, I’m diggin’ it Doc! What a great maiden entry to the Songwriters Challenge! Love me some of your unconventional blues, man! Way to keep goin' without your pick! Ha!

Minor technicality Doc, Open-Mic 61 is closed, so this dual entry (Songwriters Week-2) should have been coupled with Open-Mic week 62, for you to drop another link there - on Sunday when the new Open-Mic 62 contest is announced. Yeah, sometimes rules sorta suck – but we gotta have em’. :-)

My bad. I'm such an old timer I thought the deadline was Sunday at noon. Should I change it to week 62 or 63? I just did a 17 hour night shift so my time clock is a bit off haha.

Glad my entry was well received. The blues will never get old as long as humanity exists! Hope you are well!

My bad on the typo error - This Sunday starts week #62 so you could post this there when the new contest is announced on Sunday (Week #61 closed out on Friday) Don't know how my finger hit that "3" - sorry for any confusion, Doc. :-) I'll edit my reply just so no one esle might get confused....

Thanks for reminding me! I will be in Week 62. Yeah!

I lost my pick and I'm still going too :-)

That part could never be written, that part was a live rendition element haha. Thanks for stopping by and showing suppprt! May have a few blues tunes to keep this contest a'kickin'

Thanks for entering the Songwriters challenge, man.

Always a pleasure to be in these contests. If only I had more time! Had a lot of fun on this one!

hell yeah! Maaan, its so good to hear. You've got great style! x

I feel very comfortable playing the blues. Rock and roll may be heard more nowadays but the blues has something that rock and roll will never touch. I think everyone likes the blues to some degree. Appreciate the listen man.

totally agree. Its great that people like you keep the blues alive, and its awesome to have a slice right here in the steemit songwriters..... i freeking love this openmic family :P

That was a pretty cool song! It gives me a bit of a George Thorogood vibe. :-)

I would say my strongest blues influence is John Lee Hooker. Blues got the soul! Thanks for listening. Appreciate the feedback.

Nice song man!

Thanks! Trying to blast the blues through the airways of Steem.

huge huge love my friend . bringin the @tfeldman sound. great job on the writing . soooo good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61888.55
ETH 3400.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50