Steemit Open Mic Week 91: "Bob" cover

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

This week I'm gonna wait and tell you who wrote it after you listen. Don't worry, it's short.

Lyrics:
I, man, am Regal, a German am I
Never odd or even
If I had a Hi-Fi
Madam, I'm Adam
Too hot to hoot
No lemon no melon
Too bad I hid a boot
Lisa Bonet ate no basil
Warsaw was raw
Was it a car or a cat I saw?

Rise to vote, sir
Do geese see God?
Do nine men Interpret? Nine men I nod
Rats live on no evil star
Won't lovers revolt now?
Race fast safe car
Pa's a sap
Ma is as selfless as I am
May a moody baby doom a yam

Ah Satan sees Natasha
No devil lived on
Lonely Tylenol
Not a banana baton
No X in Nixon
O stone, be not so
O Geronimo, no minor ego
"Naomi" I moan
A Toyota's a Toyota
A dog, a panic, in a pagoda

Oh no, Don Ho
Nurse, I spy gypsies, run!
Senile felines
Now I see bees, I won
UFO tofu
We panic in a pew
Oozy rat in a sanitary zoo
God, a red nugget, a fat egg under a dog
Go hang a salami, I'm a lasagna hog

Lasagna at the end might have clued you in, this is a Weird Al Yankovic song, meant to pastiche Bob Dylan a little bit. I have a cold this week, so I thought trying to sing a little like Al trying to sing like Bob was a better idea than trying to sing like me without a cold. I'm still not remotely raspy enough.

The lyrics, of course, are all palindromes. I was at a convention full of writers and editors last weekend and completely knocked them over with this one in the music party. Some of my originals went over well, too, but this one was pretty well pitched to the word nerds.

Al's own video for this song is a pretty amazing parody of the video to "Subterranean Homesick Blues" if you're a Dylan fan. I thought about breaking out the harmonica for this but, cold.

Proceeds from this post go toward awarding bonus prizes for original songs in Open Mic.

Sort:  

I imagined myself driving my car down a long road listening to this song, relaxed, peaceful and enjoying the journey. And WHAAAAAT? The palindrome was great.

very goood

Right on keep rockin' for all us nerds out there! ;9)

This is great! Didn't realise the palindromes until you mentioned it. That's quite some art right there!

You got our upvote, my man :D

Cheeeeers! Ha ha! I love Weird Al AND Bob.. AND tcpolymath! So this makes me super happy. Would love to hear the harmonica sometime soon!
♥♥♥♥♥
Serena

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70