Steemit Open Mic Week 87 - "This City" (Steve Earle cover)

in #openmic6 years ago

I wrote about New Orleans earlier this week, so I thought now I would sing my favorite song about it. It's by Steve Earle.

Lyrics:

This city won't wash away
This city won't ever drown
Blood in the water, and Hell to pay
Sky tear open and pain rain down

Doesn't matter let come what may
I ain't ever gonna leave this town
This city won't wash away
This city won't ever drown

Ain't the river or the wind to blame
As everybody around here knows
Nothing holding back Pontchartrain
'cept for a prayer and a promise's ghost

This town's digging our graves in
Solid marble above the ground
Maybe our bones will wash away
But this city won't ever drown

This city won't ever die
Just as long as our heart beats strong
Like a second line steppin' high
Raisin' hell as we roll along

Gentille to Vieux Carre
Lower 9, Central City, Uptown
Singing jockamo fee nané
This city won't ever drown

Doesn't matter 'cause there ain't no way
I'm ever gonna leave this town
This city won't wash away
This city won't ever drown.
This city won't wash away
This city won't ever drown.
This city won't wash away
This city won't ever drown.

Milestone: this is the first one of these that actually sounds pretty good to me. I threw some reverb into the effects mix and it helped a lot, of course this song is really suited for that. It's nice to feel like I'm making some progress. Next week I'm going to start doing something about those terminal consonants.

Proceeds from this post go toward awarding bonus prizes for songwriters in Open Mic.

Sort:  

nice voice, good lyrics and composition, music for my ears this morning ... thanks!

Great song and great cover!!! New follower, cheers

Nice performance. Thanks for your extra support to the Open Mic community.

You have an amazing, strong voice which wants to come out more - definitely project it and let it be heard.

Also, the sound quality on the guitar is great! However, sometimes it overpowers your own voice. Maybe you can balance this out, or even a 1/4 or 1/8 palm mute could help solve this too!

As for the background, maybe you can remove some of the objects shown which are unnecessary so the focus is more on you!

Definitely keep it coming here. This was a great upload.

Thanks for the thoughts. I'm still very much in the early stages of figuring out how to mix, and I'll get there eventually.

I'm pretty sure you will. We shall be following you closely :D If you have any questions, feel free to ask us.

My Dad is a fan of Steve Earle... I don't mind him either!!! A lovely version xxx

Great and lovely song with a unique lyric, you are always good playing your guitar @tcpolymath

Cool tune - Nice TC... Totally dug it, bro!

You sounded great! You got a really good tone of voice in this song and this tune really suited your voice. In fact, you sounded a bit like Scott Weiland from Stone Temple pilots. I hadn’t heard this song before nice to be introduced to new music. Thanks mate
Blissful blessings and smiles
in joy
Nathan
NK

you sounded a bit like Scott Weiland

I had to listen to it again to hear it and now I can't unhear it. That's gonna be interesting.

Well, I hope you took that as a compliment because it was meant to be, my friend.
I love stone temple pilots, but if you don’t then I really hope you unhear it soon.

Oh, no, I like them reasonably well and Scott was a great singer. I've just never really thought of them in the context of my own work. I was more of a Counting Crows/Natalie Merchant kind of a kid.

Fair enough, mate.
When someone compared my voice to Bon Jovi’s I was pretty insulted. I really didn’t like bon jovi as a kid. I was much more of a Lenny Kravitz/SoundGarden/INXS/Vince Jones (he is a Chet Baker-like Australian Jazz singer) kinda kid. (Heck! I’d have much preferred to have been compared to Scott than Jon. Lol. Even though Jon clearly has an incredible vocal range and ability. Our childhood gravitation holds much power over us)
So I get it. What’s worse was that I heard Bon Jovi comparison from a couple of different, unrelated people, so I had to find a way to either accept it and find the good in it, because that’s what people were hearing, or find a way to change it by changing my vocal technique.

Anyway, don’t get stuck on the little bit that mentioned Scott, even though that part was meant as a compliment.
The rest of it was clearly a lovely compliment to you.
Besides, now that you mention it, I can hear the counting crows influence.

Awesome cover!! This song and overall sound fits you super well, dude!! I’d really love to hear you sing more Steve Earle songs.

Well done and thanks again for your support ❤️

Thanks. This is the only Steve Earle song I do at the point, though I should break out the Townes van Zandt sometime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34