Steemit Open Mic Week 80 : Bully in the Alley(traditional)

in #openmic6 years ago

cover.jpg

Steemit Open Mic Week 80 : Bully in the Alley(traditional)

So I'm still obsessed with this sea shanty, and I had grand plans of recording harmony vocals and a bodhran track.
Neither of those really worked, but I did put the simplest of all drum parts in it, and if you listen with headphones, you can hear what's left of the harmony track. Literally just "Help me Bob":D

'Bully' in this context means extremely drunk.
Apparently 'spliced' refers to tying the knot, or getting married.
Shinbone al is a reference to Shinbone Alley, which is apparently a place in New York.
So in the song, the sailor is shitfaced drunk in Shinbone Alley.
In some versions of the song, Sally is also from Shinbone Alley.

Sort:  

Happy dance all the way!!!!!!!! You seriously made me smile big with this one! Hugs your way!☺️

I'm working on another shanty for next week. I might have to make up verses though, because I can never remember them.

Improvise baby improvise!

I am still tickled pink by the synchronicity of it all. <3

Love your song selections... you always bring great new stuff to us ;9)

Thank you! I try:D

I telepathically inspired this one one morning when I was thinking about Fergus' virility and comparing it to a fierce Ox/Bull.... then all of a sudden he became fixated with this song and performed it that morning without having any idea what I was doing.

I was sold on "all she fuckin' did was dilly and dally!" Now I know why you became obsessed! Loved it, man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26