Steemit Open Mic Week 52 : Opiates and Booze(original)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Steemit Open Mic Week 52 : Opiates and Booze(original)

cover.jpg

This song is about a renegade fiddle player.

Full Lyrics:
Opiates and Booze
Opiates and Booze
I'm wearing what I slept in, so fuck the bras and shoes
Smoking squares and dancing, and I can hardly lose
Soaking up the sunshine with opiates and booze

My back is all messed up and I'm not right in the head
Percoset and whiskey that's what the doctor said
My day could have been a train wreck if I'd have let it be
but good friends and Jameson is just the thing for me

Opiates and Booze
Opiates and Booze
I'm wearing what I slept in so fuck the bras and shoes
Smoking squares and dancing, and I can hardly lose
Soaking up the sunshine with opiates and booze

When the sun comes up and I'm about to fade to black
I'll let them fuckers line up and they'll massage my back
cool me off with palm fronds or clean the kitchen if they choose
I'll smoke some bud and thank the world for opiates and booze

Sort:  

Bravo to my fave Steemit troubadour!

Awwww...Thank you!

👏👏👏👏 Hey, just tell it how it is mate! Well done.

Thanks @steelygeoff.
In the full band's version there's a killer keyboard solo:)

Love any shade of renegade... and this was no exception!

Thanks @passion-ground! This song was a true account of a day in her life. I was one of the fuckers who cleaned the kitchen and massaged her back.

Ha-haaaa!!! Priceless... some things we never forget... :-)

Week 52 has not started yet. Each week begins on Sunday.

Friday is my day to record. Had it finished, and I figured I might as well post it. I can hold off in the future though.

I see. Friday is the cutoff date to the contest and I post the new one for the next week each Sunday. Just so you know.

Thanks and sorry about that. I will not jump the gun in the future.
It's cool if it is not eligible for 52.

Of course, it's eligible for week 52. We're just having fun here. Let's not get too serious. It's cool that you're on it. Thanks for playing.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Just starting the day with your song 🙂 Since English isn't my native language, I'm not sure I really understand the meaning, but I really like it. You have a great voice!

Thing that puzzles me a bit is the views counter. I listened to it 3 times now, checked some other pages in between and came back, but that count doesn't move. Gives me hope that its not working properly, when I get 3 times the upvotes than views... which to me is a bit depressing. Of course I appreciate the votes, but as an artist, one also wants to be seen... ahm... heard, right?

I've never been able to figure those out either. The view and vote counts rarely match, and I think many people upvote the thumbnail without opening the post.
I'm O.K. with that:)
Thanks for listening @reinhard-schmid!

Had the same problem. If you use the 'embed' code, rather than the 'share' url, the views from this platform should count on Youtube. Great song, btw. :-)

Cool tune @tarotbyfergus! There's nothing quite like a misspent youth to make you appreciate how precious time is later in life ;)

That is so true...

Thank you @trevorpetrie

Very entertaining song man, good job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50