Steemit Open Mic Week 46 : Roving Gambler(cover)

in #openmic7 years ago

Steemit Open Mic Week 46
steemit_open_mic_46.png

This week I'm doing Roving Gambler.
In my head, it's a straight up rip of the Ramblin Jack Elliot version.

Full Lyrics

I'm a roving gambler
and I've gambled all around
Whenever I meet with a deck of cards
I lay my money down

I've gambled up in old Ireland
Gambled up in Spain
I'm on my way to Texas
to gamble my last game

I hadn't been in Texas
Many more days than three
When I fell in love with a pretty little girl
who fell in love with me

She took me to her parlor
She cooled me with a fan
She whispered low in her mother's ear
I love my gamblin' man

Daughter dear daughter
How can you treat me so
How could you leave your mother dear
And with this gambler go

Mother dear mother
I hope you understand
If you ever see me here again
I'll be with my gamblin man

I'll never marry a farmer
He's always in the dirt
The man I love is a gamblin man
who wears a silken shirt

I'd never marry a cowboy
he's always in the rain
The man I love is a gamblin man
who wears a golden chain

I'll never marry a railroad man
this I'll tell you why
I've never met a railroad man
who wouldn't tell his wife a lie

I'm a roving gambler
and I've gambled all around
Whenever I meet with a deck of cards
I lay my money down

Sort:  

👏👏👏 Hell, that bought back memories of the 60s folk clubs (in the U.K. anyway) A forceful rendition there my friend. Keep them coming and the memories flowing. Nice one.

Thank you! I'm going to invest in a better microphone...

You awesomely talented man you!😌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66