Steemit Open Mic Week 43 : Haul Away Joe

in #openmic7 years ago

Steemit Open Mic Week 43 : Haul Away Joe

steemit open mic 43.png

Live from my kitchen

This is an old sailing shanty that I learned from Clancey Brothers albums. I have also heard it for years in the Irish Pubs of St. Paul.

Lyrics

When I was a little boy, so me mother told me
That if I did not kiss the girl, my lips would all grow moldy

First I met a Yankee girl, she made my memory hazy
Then I met an Irish girl, she damn near drove me crazy

Louie was the King of France before the revolution
Then he got his head cut off, it spoiled his constitution

Patrick built a church in Dublin town and on it built a steeple
The snakes all learned to hide their tongues and walk amongst the people

Sort:  

Still wondering what happened to Donald's trews O.o
Great song !

A long time since I've heard this. Great rendition of a classic.

Thank you! I played this song while busking quite a bit, and my band does a slightly heavier version. I love to yell this song. If I ever have to haul rope all day, this song will come in handy:)

Cool, love it.

<3 <3 <3 <3

I love shanties! Great job!

Thank you:) I'm also a big fan. I do most of them acapella, but I like playing this one on the guitar.

You have a great voice for this type of music 🎶☺️
I actually listened to while rearranging one of my crystal grids. Today the vibrational levels feel a lot smoother!
Lovely day to you!

That's awesome! I should do the same thing...
Happy Tuesday @artedellavita :)

Peace profound to you friend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55