Steemit Open mic Week 125 : Can't Complain/Ballad of the Mars Rover(original)

in #openmic5 years ago

nasa-space-rover-opportunity-1 copy.jpg
Steemit Open mic Week 125 : Can't Complain/Ballad of the Mars Rover(original)

Happy Full Moon Steemit!

This week, my song was written for a songwriter's challenge that we have been doing at our open mic in Minneapolis.
This week's phrase was 'can't complain.'
I wrote the song from the perspective of the Mars rover 'Opportunity' in it's final days.



Full lyrics:
I've seen the moons as they danced over
I had quite a view when I was young
In my day I was a handsome rover
And as the dust settles o'er my eyes
I have to say
That I can't complain

I hope we've met our expectations
Me and my kin so far from home
I've so enjoyed our communications
And as the dust settles o'er my eyes
I have to say
That I can't complain

As I roll into the lonesome valley
In my core I know I'm not alone
The makers speak my name at my grand finale
And as the dust settles o'er my eyes
I have to say
That I can't complain

As the dust settles o'er my eyes
and it's getting dark outside
I can't complain


tuvokLiveLong.jpg

Sort:  

Hey songbird you! Love this as usual! Sending warm hugs your way!

genius.

aww what a lovely treat for me tonight! some tarotbyfergus. would always know its you. you are so unique i love your voice every time.. much love the this crazy song bird. beautiful song

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99