OpenMic Songwriters Challenge Week #1 : Pretty Gorgon

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

gorgon.jpg
Open Mic Songwriter's Challenge Week One : Pretty Gorgon

Here is my entry for the first week of the songwriter's challenge.

It's a love-ish song to a gorgon.
The theme of the week was "broken mirror" and it is in the first/second verse.
"I put a mirror in my mind to keep me safe
But it broke when on the other side I thought of your face"

Full Lyrics:
Pretty Gorgon

Pretty gorgon I've known you way too long
Just thinking of you now has got me turning to stone
I put a mirror in my mind to keep me safe
But it broke when on the other side I thought of your face

Pretty gorgon

Your venom's not enough to keep me away
Cause I got my immunity yesterday
You can slide if you want to another town
But I'm na-ga-na take that sitting down

Pretty gorgon Pretty gorgon

Why don't you come next to me

To know you that way is like a crazy dare
But I'm missing your slither and the hiss in your hair
Maybe you're trouble that it's safer to quit
But I'm like a honey badger and I don't give a shit

Pretty gorgon

I wake up in the morning and I'm wearing a frown
'Cause you got me like a bat hanging upside down
I don't like when a part of me is turning blue
But it wants what it wants and it's looking for you

Pretty gorgon Pretty gorgon

Why don't you come next to me

Sort:  

Nice entry gets my vote!

Thanks for entering @tarotbyfergus

Thanks for being a Steemit superhero @luzcypher!

Nice one, brother... totally dug it! Great frickin' entry, man!

Thanks @passion-ground! I started out writing a sea shanty, which turned into a Beatle's style pop song, which turned into this.

Love that progression... Ha! Whatever get's us there, right? Cool, man!

great song!.. but.. umm.. what's a gorgon? lol.. i never heard this word before (probably because english is not my native language) sorry for wasking.
I really liked you song! thanks for sharing your music with us!
upvoting you! ♥

Medusa is a gorgon. Gorgons are snake-like women whose gaze was said to turn men to stone.

ohhh yeah! i know what you mean!! like that mythical Greek creature. right?!
I had no idea that's what they are called! you see.. i even learned something today !! thanks!

I do what I can:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44