OpenMic Songwriters Challenge Week #1

in #openmic7 years ago

Ok, here's my actual submission for the OpenMic Songwriters Challenge Week #1. Thanks to @luzcypher and @meno for putting the contest together! I don't usually write from a theme, but it sparked so I went with it. Here's the lyrics:

Broken mirror
Shattered past
Hold this moment
And make it last

Scattered pieces
Upon the floor
Who's that walking
Through the door

Shattered mirror
Broken glass
Hit rewind on
The Betamax

Subsequently
You've given up
Evidently
You've had enough

Observation
I wonder why
I wrote your name
Across the sky

Crashed the bi-plane
Into the ground
Shook the earth
With a mighty sound

Sort:  

Congratulations @swilkinstunes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for your entry. Please read and follow the rules next time. Thank you.

Specifically this one.

  • You must say “OpenMic Songwriters Challenge Week #” at the beginning of your video so we know you are really playing live for us for this contest

Adding an edit to a prerecorded video just to add the words is not good enough. It must be said by the person performing the song just prior to performing it. Recording the words and editing it to the beginning of a video still does not prove it was really you.

Ok, I'll definitely do that on the next one. Do I need to redo this video?

I'm going to let it slide this time. Please read all the rules carefully next time. Thanks

Thank you, I appreciate it! 🙂

Right On, Brother... You're catching on quickly! You still need to follow all of the rules insofar as "announcing" your submission within the video itself... You're just about there, man!

you rock sir!! I can see James Hetfield looking at your actions..

Thank you! I've been digging into them more, lately...

awesome track dude! And welcome to the platform!!! Don't let all the crazy competition rules get you down, point is, you've written an awesome song....! Nice work dude, hope to see more :) x

Thanks, I appreciate it!

hey brother, welcome to the platform... you still have time to reupload the entry this week with the requirements. That being said, there are still 7 more weeks to go, so I don't want you to feel discouraged or bummed out or anything like that...

as far as the song... i can totally imagine this in a full band setup with crunch and a heavy hitting drummer... very very cool

Yeah, it has an aggressive quality...

I loved it ! loved the guitar !! also... i can see a band like Green day singing lyrics like these.

I wonder how many people now a days know what a 'Betamax" is, lol!

it was really good man!

Hey thanks! Yeah I like how that line fit.

i loved it too... also the whole direction you gave the song. Loved it in general.

You seem to be quite into metal!
Nice strumming, I like the fast quadruple croches in the chorus.
Good song

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63