💥🎸Steemit Open Mic Week 51🎸💥 - "Carolina" (acoustic cover) (Steven Alexander)

in #openmic7 years ago

Hey my steemers :) I'm here with another song for this weeks open mic!! its a song that means a whole lot to me! its called Carolina by Benjamin Gibbard :) as I depart on a backpacking trip tomorrow I will not see you guys for 5 days 😩 but I figured id happily leave you with this last song!!! enjoy:)

Every scream went bleeding through these paper walls and all the make-up in the world couldn't hide the scars I leave today, I'm packing light: a suitcase, some toiletries The rolling hills and willow trees of Carolina wait for me

You never learned, the rules have changed since we were nine
This isn't school: boys don't assault the girls they like

The taste of blood, the claim of love: these two will here on cease
to be sprouting from your fists and tongue 'cause Carolina waits for me

Fields of grain go whipping by from the window seat
I'm drifting in, I'm drifting out catching up on sleep I couldn't get
Indentured since the very crest of 17
I left my keys and broken dreams 'cause Carolina waits for me

I will never forgive a single day
Mile markers seem to call my name and say,
"you're safer now, through every town,
we'll light your way in reflective green all the way"
The entire state of Carolina waits for me

Sort:  

thank you for your song

Oh man thankyou @slowwalker ! I'm glad you enjoyed it :) I took a trip to North Carolina which was so beautiful and it seemed like the perfect time to play it !

Sweet sounds. Thanks for that.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

You have a very soothing voice! And I like this song too. Hope you have a good trip. Safe travels.

Nice one, bro! Hope that wasn't "the" last song... See ya next week!

Wonderfully played and well sung. I really enjoy when people sing the songs that mean the most to them and not just out of pure fun. The passion really drives the whole performance home to the heart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45