OPEN MIC WEEK 39 - Metallica's Nothing Else Matters (Playing Guitar.....with Myself)

in #openmic7 years ago
I was messing around last night playing guitar and I decided to record myself with the GoPro. It started out as a test to see how the sound was. By the time I was finished it had morphed into a full video with me playing guitar...with myself.

I have a playlist made up of various backing tracks that I found on YouTube. Some of these, like this one, don't have any vocals. This can be challenging sometimes as the vocals help to keep you on track with the song. Some of the tracks don't have a metronome either so things can get messed up if there are long pauses where you need to keep the right tempo. Thankfully, this one had a metronome for the long pause without drums at the start. There are plenty of backing tracks out there for anyone who likes to play along to recordings. This adds just a little bit more challenge than playing with the real song, but is less challenging than playing with a real band.

Nothing Else Matters



All in all, it turned out pretty good as far as the sound. A little wobbly to get going but the sound from the guitars are 100% unedited with absolutely zero post effects added. It's all straight out of the amp and into the camera mic. I'm a little rusty because I don't play guitar a whole lot any more, but I think it turned out well for a first attempt.

The main guitar is captured using the mic from the GoPro. I used the sound for the second guitar that I recorded with my Sony a51 camera for the close-up shots.

I realized after I made this that I should have made this for the open mic. I guess I had to say it's for the open mic to qualify. Oh well, I'll still submit it I guess, I'll just remember to say that for the next one.

Here is the backing track if anyone wants to use it for their own practicing.


b14rlldlg

stephen-king989

SteemGig Commissions

Buy My Prints
Amazon Merch T-Shirts
RedBubble Merch

Sort:  

Like it very much, i like instrumental music
Thanks, following

Wawwww that's amazing, Thanks for sharing this good quality post

Great Buddy !!! Metallica is my fav. Excellent lyrics :)
"Life is ours, we live it our way
All these words I don't just say
And nothing else matters"

Sounds good. Thanks for playing Steemit Open Mic. To qualify for rewards you musts say "Open Mic Week 39" at the start of your video.

Yeah, I made the video and then thought of submitting it for open mic. I'll be sure to say it next week so I can qualify.

I understand and it seems everyone is doing that, but if you read the contest rules is says very clearly that it must be a live performance specifically made for this contest to qualify for the rewards and we verify that by having the person say those words right before they play the song for us.

I completely agree. It's certainly a good way of making sure people aren't taking old videos and submitting them. No worries, I'll get the next one right for sure.

Cool. Look forward to more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58981.94
ETH 3097.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38