You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🎶 Open Mic Week 59 - My Top 5 Judges Selection 🎶

in #openmic7 years ago

Thanks for judging. So I can improve and catch your attention, is there anything a drummer can do? I'm sensing that I've got quite an uphill battle with only percussion as my skill, and would love to learn how to succeed in your eyes. Any advice or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Sort:  

Hey there sorry for the wait on the reply but things are crazy lately and i really wanted to take my time and answer you properly.

Firstly i think most solo instrument entries probably feel the same way, so my advice will be specific to you but others should be able to get something out of it too.

With percussion drums in particular i think the greatest struggle would be, finding a song where the drums are used as an instrument rather than a time keeping piece - this is not directed at you but bands in general a lot dont use percussion to its full extent.

My biggest advice for any solo instrument ( I mean without vocals) is you want your instrument to shine it has to fill the sound especially if playing with a backing track - ensure the drums can be easily heard over the music or even create a beat that is full on its own so we hear just what you're doing without anything to lose focus on you.

If you have access to other percussive instruments try incorporating them into your performances, show your range and versatility how the combination of different beats can come together to create a great sound on its own.

I actually really like percussion and drumming in particular, i gave it a go for a while but im a bit to unco to manage any complexities.

A few drummers to offer you some inspiration of what im thinking when i say this, Phil Collins uses his drums as a way to build a song - he can create a mood by how he drums in a song, what drum used when and how it should be used (its nit always about thrashing it out).

Another one of my favorite drummers is Danny Carey from tool (also one of my fav bands) I mean im sure you know but yeah just insane drum skills, he uses it as an instrument and its what makes their music whole.

Anyways I've probably rambled on a bit much, I hope this helps a bit - I think you have a real chance just take a chance and show us what you can do, you never know you could place were not against percussion :)

Cheers and thanks for the question, good luck!

Thanks for taking the time to reply. I understand your point about making the drums stand out as more than a time keeping piece. Good idea on making the drums be more pronounced, versus level with or under the music. I went with a solo in my second entry so there isn't anything but me to hear this time. I'm new to self-recording/video taking, so I'll keep tweaking until I find a good balance of everything, while keeping it mixed up.

I do feel partial to playing one take through without adding punches/audio edits, or video production work for now, so it feels more natural and like a true open mic with music performance as the raw focus. I may have to evolve and layer other percussion if that doesn't keep up with the pack, but it's a great experience altogether. Thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44