You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week # 56 - Sunday Morning by Maroon 5 (Cover)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Nice job! Have always been curious for musicians so I'll ask... does playing an instrument impact your singing performance as to opposed if you just sung alone, or are both second natured?

I've tried to sing when playing the drums, even with simple beats, and it's just not happening. I can't sing in the first place, but it's just too hard to separate my thought processes to do both.

Sort:  

I usually prefer to play an instrument while singing, because it helps give me a better sense of the timing in the music. That being said, if the song is more challenging on the instrumental side of things, it may impact my vocals because I will be focusing too heavily on the music.

One thing that may be different about drums, is that you are doing independent things with your left and right hand, which would likely make it harder to sing at the same time.

With the ukulele, my left hand is doing most of the work while my right hand is simply strumming. On the piano, my right hand is doing most of the work on my left hand is simply playing some bass notes. This means that my attention is only going in one main direction for the instrument, where I can focus the rest of my attention on the vocals.

If both of my hands were doing complicated and independent patterns, I think it be really hard to also do a good job with vocals. I hope that makes sense! I tried to learn drums for a short period of time, but found the left and right hand independence thing to be very challenging. This is part of the reason why am always SO impressed when I see a drummer singing and playing at the same time!

Thanks for explaining. The lead hand focus makes sense vs drumming with all four limbs. Don't forget those feet, which you probably also use on a piano for the pedals. While I'll never sing and drum, it's remarkable how others can really belt it out over complex drum patterns. I guess it's just musical Darwinism...

Oh man... having to use all four limbs while singing would be super hard. It’s probably something they have to really train for and practice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58117.54
ETH 3128.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23