Steemit Open Mic Week 45 Poor Boy (cover)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)


Epiphone Hound Dog Dobro

Hi there fellow Steemians

I don't have time to sort out another original at the moment (to a vaguely listenable standard anyway!) so this week I am covering another of my favourite pieces by the late great John Fahey. This slide instrumental is "Poor Boy" and on the original, Fahey somehow arranged for a dog to bark during the recording session. He then quietened the animal with a simple "shhhhsh....shhhsh". At the time, that impressed me almost as much as his playing. I'm afraid have no such prop for my rendition of the piece and I am hoping you enjoy it, despite this slight lack of true authenticity.

I am now looking forward to watching the other contributors to the open mic event.

steemit_open_mic_45.png

Sort:  

I love the variety of music and instruments you play. Always refreshing every week! this one's a beaut!

Thank you Oliver. I couldn't wish for a better comment, particularly coming from one as good as yourself. 👍😊

Thats awesome dude!, great playing!... I want to learn that style of playing some day :D

Cheers man. Live the dream, go for it!

omg guitar is looking so beautiful may i have it please :p

Well, since you ask so nicely... perhaps on second thoughts, sorry! I must admit, I actually polished it a little before I did my bit on it. 😊

Thanks man, I assume you'll be in this week? 👍

The post is great but the guitar playing is even better.

Thanks mate, I'll be catching your spot . 😊

Just a gorgeous guitar, and amazing Playing! Really upbeat, thank you <3 Put a smile on my face... :)

Thank you so much . My performance doesn't "speak" like you guys do though.

You're so kind...I'm happy that we don't depress you and that you can see/hear us for what we are trying to do. Much Love! I only hope one day I can be as talented a guitar player as you are Geoff.

Just love how you make that pretty thing sing mate.... Fantastic!

Hey, thanks there fella! You know, with your story about your childhood, you've done a lot to make me think about my own early years/youth. 👍😏

I love dobros.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

<3! Awesome as always my dear @steelygeoff! Best of luck this week my friend!

Thank you so much my friend and also thank you for the resteem. I hope things are not too awful where you are.

I love this style of Guitar playing , great work , reminds me of cowboys movies , also that melody in the middle is so perfect , \m/

Cheers David.. First time I've be linked with cowboy movies... 👍😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67