Steemit Open Mic Week 43 "Hesitation Blues" (cover)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Steemit Open Mic Week 43 Hesitation Blues

Hi there Steemians

We've been away at a great little music (and beer!!) festival just east of Carlisle since Thursday, with limited access to the internet. I now have some catching up to do over the next day or so and I am looking forward to checking out week 43's open mic contributions so far. My own effort this week, is an old song entitled “Hesitation Blues”. It has been recorded by many artistes over the years but my rendition attempts to follow Ralph McTell's version from the late 60s. I have taken the liberty of adding my own final verse for a bit of fun.

I recorded this in the campervan while we were away, hence the somewhat different background.

Thanks enormously to @luzcypher and @pfunk for sponsoring this fabulous, truly international platform. It means that even those who would never perhaps take to the stage in a "live" open mic event get heard by others with similar interests.

Hesitation Blues

Got my hesitation stockings, hesitation shoes,
Lord almighty got them hesitation blues.
And tell me how long, oh, must I have to wait?
'Til I get you now, oh no, must I hesitate.

A nickle is a nickle, and a dime is a dime,
I got a house full of kids, one of them must be mine.
Oh how long, must I have to wait?
Can I get you now, oh no, must I hesitate.

Hesitation, got my hesitation,
Lord almighty got my hesitation.
Tell me... must I have to...
Can I get you now, oh no, must I hesitate.

And I'm standing on the corner with a dollar in my hand,
Looking for a woman who's looking for a man
Oh how long, must I have to wait?
Can I get you now, how long, must I hesitate.

Never been to heaven, but I've been told,
Old Saint Peter knows how to jelly-roll,
How long, must I have to wait?
'Til I get you now, how long, must I hesitate.

Hesitation, got my hesitation,
Lord almighty got my hesitation.
How long, must I have to...
'Til I... , how long must I hesitate.

Now I'm sittin' in a camper, pickin’ my guitar
50 years ago they said, “One day you’ll be a star”
How long, STEEMIANS must I wait,
Will I ever be, how long, must I hesitate

Hesitation, got my hesitation,
Lord almighty got my hesitation.
Tell me...., must I have to...
'Til I... , how long must I hesitate.

Sort:  

Im n0t going to hesitate that was great

Thank you my friend, I appreciate that! 👍

Great song - But don't hesitate. Enjoy the festival.
steelygeoff, is that steelydan's brother :)

Thanks, yeah the festival was fabulous. Ha ha, and I wish. I would rather have liked the inimitable Mr Fagan as an older brother. 😉

You're such a great guitarist! I really like this song, I never heard it before.
Thanks for sharing some great music!

Thank you, you're very kind. I thoroughly enjoy playing and if a few other folk enjoy it too, well, I'm happy!

You're right meep, I forgot to mention that the vocals were great too!

Nice one Dad! I always liked that tune.

Wow I didn't know he was your dad, that's awesome!

Thanks son. It's always been one of your mother's favourites TBH.

Oh hey I didn't know that Andy was your son!!!!
He's just as talented as you!

Well, we are fairly different as far as chord knowldge and usage are concerned and he didn't start playing until he was 19 or so. I have a lot of respect for the fabulous stuff he does and not simply because he's my son.

I love it. Thanks for playing and have fun at the festival.

Thanks L. Without you guys though, I wouldn't be playing much anymore. Thanks for giving me a boot up the bum! 👍

I love the blues and enjoyed your version of this. Hope the weather was better up in Cumbria than in Birmingham over last few days.

Thanks for that Bran. No, actually the weather was shite over the weekend but the music beer and craic/crack was good and we stayed dry in the camper van. 👍

Love listening to ya man! Great job!

Cheers Morktra (or do your folks and mates call you Mork?) 😊

LOL... Name's Frank, Morktra is the name of the project. It means dark tree.

Well, easy mistake to make. 😂😂😂 I remember the TV series " Mork & Mindy" and had ideas you might just be an alien! 😉

I wonder that sometimes myself :)

Not a moment longer, no hesitation mate... you're already a star! I enjoyed that very much...

Hey thanks mate. If I can entertain a few folk, just like others here are doing, including your good self of course, I have achieved something. 👍

Nice call and response with your voice and the bends! Also, the sound quality on this one is really really good! That guitar sounds Great!

Well thank you sir! TBH, I have no idea why the sound quality was so good 😏 Maybe I need to do all my future stuff from the campervan... 😂😂😂. As for the Takamine, it needs new strings but I guess that's often more in the ear of the beholder, so to speak! BTW, what are you tuned to for the absolutely fabulous Bach piece this week?

You just put me in a good mood @steelygeoff :)

Ha ha, pleased I manage to do that for someone occasionally!

Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59484.75
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41