Steemit Open Mic - Week 62: Pear in an Olive Tree (Original Song)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys,

This week I'm performing a song I wrote called Pear in an Olive Tree. It's a sad song and I really tried to capture the tension and confusion of heartbreak in a 5/4 time signature as well as through a tense arpeggiated Cmaj7 chord, guitar tuned down to a low C. I hope you enjoy it. Lyrics below.


Open the door
Eyes drawn to an empty floor
No more of her fancy clothes
Spread around the perimeter of the room

She's gone
She's gone
I know it's not making much sense to me
And I feel like I've lost my pear in an olive tree

God damn I miss her mess
And the way she wore that dress
Halfway down her arm

She left the stove on
And she left the faucet on
And she left the hair straightener on
And she left my love on

But now she's gone
I said she's gone
I know it's not working out for me
And I feel like I've lost my pear in an olive tree


Thanks for listening,
Charles Thomas Stanhope

Sort:  

Well done bro. I just watched you performance and it was pretty distinctive among this weeks batch IMO. I thought it was D but then i saw drop C, that's moving into some sludge metal stuff lol.

I really dug how u maintained that spacy vibe throughout!

Thank you very much @jaybird!

these lyrics are just incredible. Back this week from a missed judging and im just blessed to pieces hearing you again this week. loved it so much . your voice is just haunting in this. these lyrics are full of art and feeling. As a songwriter i just taste this as it hit s my ears... so absorbing

Wow, @soundlegion. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I always really appreciate your incredibly kind words! Missed you last week but so glad you're back!

loved it.. so deep and meaningful ! ♥ and very very sad. :(

lyricly speaking (if that even is a word haha) i loved the part that said " She left the stove on
And she left the faucet on
And she left the hair straightener on
And she left my love on''

it is so tough and ugghh .. if you didn't said it was about a breakup.. it could also be interpreted as ... someone who died .

Awh man, yeah that gives a whole new (even perhaps more sad) meaning to the song :( Thank you for your thoughts, @soykatonline!

you are very welcome...

yeah.. i wanted to hear the song before reading your post so i did.. and at first what i got from it was a break up too.. up until i got to that part.. and i was like... "man! this is an unexpected plot twist!" so i stopped , read the lyrics again and started wondering if it was a break up song or the other thing (felt like suicide) .

After a while couldn't help it so went and read what you said about it.. and i felt like wow.. so i had to share my thoughts with you about it.. :)

Awesome, thank you!

those vocals are super cool with that guitar resteemed. if you also tag boomox in your music I'll resteem those tags daily!

Cool I'll check it out. Thanks!

Excellent guitar work!
I dig the overall arrangement as well.

as always, your song is awesome.. your voice, guitar arrangement over all just WOW!

Thanks a lot g10a!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67488.06
ETH 3761.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56