You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week 91 - Record Your Performance And Win Steem - Sponsored By @pfunk And @luzcypher

in #openmic6 years ago

I would like to enter the contest but I don't play an instrument. I saw a few of the older rules posts and they didn't mention the instrument requirement.

Why was that added?

Sort:  

It was added because too many people started entering by singing to karaoke tracks and I don't want to curate a karaoke contest. The focus of Open Mic has always been to bring a community of musicians together.

We do make exceptions if you sing really well and have a command of your voice like an instrument. There are also other contests on Steemit that focus on karaoke.

I was really thinking of entering acapella. I can appreciate your position regarding the karaoke-ness of it though.

I may enter in a coming week without accompaniment and if that means I'm disqualified then, so be it =) at least I got myself out there.

There are exceptions so give it a go. Also, there are other contests on Steemit that except Karaoke entries like Pitch Perfect.

You could also find a musician to play with.

Here at Open Mic we want to create a group for musicians who play musical instruments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78