Steemit Openmic Week 91- "Absences" an original song and awesome collaborationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Super Awesome Collaboration with @lillywilton!

I'm super excited about this weeks entry for the Steemit Openmic because I got to team up remotely with a fellow Steemer whose work I find to be pretty freakin' fantastic.

This whole process ended up being pretty educational for me. Aside from the technical details of sending files back and forth and whatnot, we had to be able to communicate ideas and collaborate creatively about music through email. Which is a bit easier said than done. But we done did it.

Bright and Lonely Beaches...

I wrote this song a few month ago in Gokarna, India. I had just spent a month and a half studying yoga with some amazing teachers in northern India and I happened to meet an amazing person there who very quickly became very important to me. Love at first scent or something like that...
(Consequently (or not) she has started a blog here on Steemit too, check it out at @andabout for great vegan recipes, photography and some awesome videos.)

When that time ended and she when back to London I went to spend a few months with some other teachers at Gokarna Beach (which is amazing).
"Absences" describes some of my perceptions and emotions at that time.

Fab Collab.

When I shared this tune with Lilly it was pretty raw and sparse and I hadn't been able to go any farther with it since writing it in December. I feel like she really brought it to another level. She was really sensitive to the mood of the song and I feel like her additions to the song built on what I wrote and yet also brought a fresh perspective, her idea of echoing my vocals to augment the feeling of two people separately longing for each other was just brilliant.

Here it is

I hope you all like it.


Props and accolades to the awesome folks who bring this community into being every week. @pfunk @luzcypher @soundlegion @krystle @meno @passion-ground and @verbal-d as well as the folks at MSP-Waves Radio, Steem Monsters, and @curie, you all are awesome. Thank you.

Sort:  

Love the gentleness of this song & the layering of harmonies was just beautiful to hear.. amazing duet!

Thank you, I agree with you about the harmonies. It was awesome for me to hear as well.

Thank you!! I'm so glad you enjoyed the layers and harmonies we made together.<3

What a fabulous collab between a couple of my fave Open Mic musicians! Great work!
Blissful blessings and smiles
in joy
Nathan
NK

Thank you so much Nathan. ❤️ It's super cool to hear those words from the one-man-band-rockstar. ❤️

Woww such a beautiful collaboration! You both are highly talented.. sounds amazing :D
Thank you @Shookriya for being part of my life,♡♡♡

This is what Open Mic is all about guys. Building a community of musicians on Steemit. Love hearing your collaboration. Keep up the good work and thanks for being such a wonderful part of this community.

Thank you my friend, it is really my pleasure.

And thank you for making it easy for us to find each other :)

What a fantastic collaborative effort you two! Loved the backstory Shook and how the whole thing came together... Awesome!

Thanks passion, this is definitely one of my favorite recordings I've done.

Thank you <3 I loved reading the backstory, too.

^You and me both @shookriya. It was truly an honor to get invited into your creativity.

:) creativity seems to be one of those things that grows when shared and comes back double.

This is amazing! Great job, guys! Would love to see more of the kickass collaborations :D

Thank you, it was a pleasure to make so Im sure we will both have more collaborations coming.

Thank you <3 And yes, shook. 1000% yes to this ^

that was awesome, beautiful... I wish you the best!

Thank you very much :)

Thank you so much!

Hi shookriya,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Awesome :) You folks really make my day.

I replied to you on discord, lets make this happen tomorrow night 10pm Eastern. DM me for more details.

I can promise you two things

  1. 5 SBD (I share with all my guests)
  2. Fun like situation

If there’s one thing I like it’s a fun like situation

Thank you so much Curie fam <3 Y'all are awesome.

very beautiful, I congratulate you for this wonderful work .... that good to see so much talent together! ...

Thank you so much :)

Amazing collab, guys! Your voices compliment each other so well, and I’m sure it was no easy feat to make this happen!

Thank you so much, it took a little back and forth but it came together amazingly naturally :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50