Steemit Openmic Week 87- Acoustic Version of "Shook," an Original Tune.

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Second Verse, Same as the First...

If you saw my entry last week you may notice that this one is vaguely similar. Last week I entered my original song "Shook" with 2 guitar parts, 2 or 3 trombone parts, upright bass and vocals. I really enjoyed making that, however I'm a little curious about how much value I added with all those parts.

How much was I thinking with my ears and how much was my ego? Maybe in music drawing on the ego a bit is not necessarily a bad thing, maybe it helps people to connect since we all have one...

Beautiful Simplicity

I'm continually impressed by how much some of the artists here in the open mic community do with just a guitar or ukelele or piano and their voice. In terms of conveying a message, imparting an emotion, and just pure entertainment value, there doesn't seem to be a direct correlation between "more" and "better."

Different Strokes

I think it could be easily said that one is not better than the other just different, and that there is a time and a place for everything. You could also say that that is total bs, I dunno. There is also the fact that different people have different tastes and where one person might love the more stripped down version of a tune, another might prefer a little more texture.

That Being Said...

I'd really love to hear your opinion on the matter. Which version did you find more satisfying/interesting and why? As I still have a lot of learning and growing to do as a songwriter/producer I think that this kind of feedback would be really valuable. Maybe for other folks as well.

So Here it is

I'm not sorry if I shook your faith
I'm not sure I would have chosen this place
I guess I may have said some things in haste
But I know that there's no time to waste

You say I seem a little upset
Well maybe I am and just haven't felt it yet
You know I get a bit excited
Talking 'bout wrong and right and...

What could we become
Preconceptions undone
Is it many or one

So if I open up to you
As I think you know I'm likely to
We'll have to transcend our ego
So we can realize the things we both know
So we can realize the things we know

What could we become
Preconceptions undone
Would you put down that gun
Are we many or one



Thank you so much for your feedback and here are some links to last weeks version.

Dsound: https://dsound.audio/#!/@shookriya/20180528t002515996z-shook

Dtube: https://d.tube/v/shookriya/rhniyx1c

Dlive: https://dlive.io/video/shookriya/acddee30-61c4-11e8-b143-ffce16c

Sort:  

Both are fucking gorgeous <3 I think I lean towards this week's acoustic guitar entry for no other reason than what you describe in your post - different moods, tastes, etc and your guitar just sounds like a massage to my psyche.

Hah :) Guitar Massage. thank you Lilly, I like a lot about this version better too. which is silly because the other one took considerably more time and effort :P I think I realized in doing this that I feel a little weird about singing when I'm not playing an instrument? Not sure why.

They both have their merits and beauty. I would use them both in a movie just in very different scenes.

Ha! You shouldn't feel weird but I completely understand. Sometimes the things we feel vulnerable about are so bizarre.

I am such a fan of your sound my friend, def look for your name in my judges picks this week. I would love to get a track submission from you for the steemit artists music compilation volume 5 https://steemit.com/steemit/@soundlegion/steemit-artists-music-compilation-volume-5-submissions-and-cover-contest-win-25-sbd-now-officially-open

I enjoyed them both equally, Shook - for all the reasons you mention. Thanks for dropping this acoustic version for a rather pleasing comparison and discussion. Nice!

Thank you :) It is an interesting comparison. Sort of a window into the process too. Actually for me as well oddly.

Totally, man. Taking nothing away from the raw acoustic version, I simply can't help but give some extra props to all of the production work, performances, and editing involved in the more textural version. I so appreciate all that work and artistry...

Yeah I definitely put a lot more time into that one. It was a lot of fun and I learned a lot from the process too. I'm really starting to push the limits of this ipad ;)

Your vocals are fantastic man. It's hard to say which one I like better but I do know that they both deserve to have more love on here!

thank you my friend :)

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This post has been selected for curation by @isaria and has been upvoted with the @msp-music account as well as the @msp-curation account, and will be featured in @isaria's weekly music curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport community curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us in the Minnow Support Palnet Discord!

Awesome, thanks for the appreciation and for your curation efforts.

I really appreciate that. And I will definitely submit something the SAMC contest. I'm working on a tune right now that I think is just the thing. Thank you for letting me know about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85