Steemit Open Mic week 95 "Wine Into Water" original songsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hello, this week I played an original song called Wine Into Water.

It's basically about a search for something and not seeing that what we are searching for is already present all around us...

I used "she" or "her" as the main character in it, that's because when I wrote this , I was tired of "you", "we" or "I" repeating in all of my songs. So I thought I'd try a different approach.

There is a small guitar mistake in the beginning of the second part, but I've already done few takes and this one was the best one overall. I didn't think I could do much better, so I left it at that. Hope you will forgive me that and enjoy it anyway. -))))

Shepherd

Lyrics:

   Wine Into Water

She stood on the shores of one of her nine islands
Catching the raindrops with her cupped hands
But before her thirst was quenched
Most have slipped through her fingers
Now she licks that drop or two that lingers
Then looks at her hands and sees
Sees them clenched

Once on a new moon night,
Night when the despair prevails
Stuck in her hopeless plight
When all the future fails
Into the surf of her seven seas
She was swept by a silent wave
Mouthfulls of drops that wave gave
No use to count them, please

There's future and past...
Which came first, which came last?
The clouds, the ocean vast
Or the river running fast?
Immersed in life's sea
She glimpsed freedom there to be
It will stay or slip - she'll see
Let's tiptoe away and let her be

Sort:  

What a great song.. awesome finger picking and vocals.. sounds like an open tuning... have a great week ;9)

Thank you for resteeming it. And yes, it's an open tuning - DADGAD - my favorite...

Congratulations @shephard! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Very very nice, super to hear you on the other side of the world :-)

Not that far I guess. :-)))

Great song and performance, Shepard!
Nice!

Thank you passion-ground, I'm happy you liked it!

Thank you for giving us this platform!

My pleasure and thanks for being part of it.

Thanks! And I appreciate you have resteemed it!

And again big thanks to all that make it possible every week: @luzcypher, @pfunk @soundlegion @krystle @passion-ground @meno @isaria and @verbal-d Good job guys!

Had a second listening with my headphones on, it is a simply fantastic song, very dreamy, beautiful.

We are in Europe for 3 months, we have been checking out every possible Europe scenario. Conlusion: Back to India :-)

I know what you mean. I am always so happy when I go back there. And the kids have the same idea?

This song is absolutely stunning. And wow wow wow, these lyrics ❤️Thank you for sharing this story.

Thank you, Lilly! I think this was the first time ever I posted this song . And it's been around for a while. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36