Steemit Open Mic Week 92 "Wayfaring Stranger" traditional folk song

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hello, this week I chose to play Wayfaring Stranger. I rarely do songs that are this famous, but this one has a very special melody and it suits my guitar playing DADGAD style.

I'm just a poor wayfaring stranger
Traveling through this world of woe
But there's no sickness, no toil nor danger
In that pure land to which I go

I'm going there to see my father
I'm going there no more to roam
I am just a-going over Jordan
I am just a-going over home

I know dark clouds will gather round me
I know my way is rough and steep
But beauteous fields will rise before me
Where souls redeemed their vigils keep

I'm going home to see my mother
She said she'd meet me when I come
I'm just a- going over Jordan
I'm only going over home

Sort:  

Hi shephard,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thank you Curie... I am fairly new to steemit, so I don't always understand everything that's happening here. But I do understand and appreciate your big, helping contribution to new, green steemites like me.... Thumbs up to you!

@curie is the best thing that can happen to you, congratulations :-)

Thanks Bub, actually it was you who suggested Open Mic for me. I am having fun...

So happy to hear that as i see sooo many beautifyl souls in the running and rewards are not so big now. Waiting on your own creation now, 10/10 for the cover for sure :-)

I am going to Albania tomorrow for 12 days. So I will miss the next week's Open Mic. But I'll be back in 2 weeks...

Thank you @pfunk @luzcypher for making Open Mic possible!

I have never heard this song before. Amazing song and amazing playing.

Oh it's quite famous. I know many versions of it. Seems like it's about 200 years old... And thank you!

Beautiful song! thanks for sharing!

Very soulful. I feel it so honest. Thank you for sharing it with us

Thank you, it's been a pleasure to share it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57690.80
ETH 2449.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33