Steemit OpenMic Week 71 - 'Forgive' [ORIGINAL SONG]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hey you Steemzey little Openmic punks

I wrote this song yesterday and recorded to share very firstly with YOU.

I was missing the Songwriters Challenge, but then yesterday the inspiration hit me and I just had to put this one into play. Thank you Openmic peeps for helping me to unlodge the musical boat. I'm-a-sailin' ...AND I'm wearing shades to prove it.

Astral Blessings, as always x

Okay HEAR it is:

LYRICS:

My mother called on the telephone
She said, hey remember that boy you used to know?
I went to see him late one afternoon
He wasn't so bad, but he has forgotten you

She said 'he's sick in the head
He didn't mean what he said'
But I think I know him better than you
More than I was meant to
And I'm sorry it wasn't my mistake
that my father left us too

Forgive them, they know not what they do
Forgive me, as I have forgiven you

What's the name of that boy again?
I'll take a stab in the dark and say Sebastian
But please don't tell anyone
Just in case he hears me and thinks I'm making fun

He'll say I manipulate and try to play his mind
I thought you knew me better than that
It's making me so sad
And I'm sorry it wasn't my mistake
If it was, I'd bring you back

Forgive them, they know not what they do
Forgive me, as I have forgiven you

Please, let's put an end to the fight
I don't want to stand here and argue all night
And I've said it many times
The apologetic line
I'm sorry it wasn't my mistake
If it was, I'd make it right

Forgive them, they know not what they do
Forgive me, as I have forgiven you

I'm sorry it wasn't my mistake
If it was, I'd make it right

...Thanks for tuning in °•○☆

Sort:  

really love your voice and your lyrics are great great great!! loved it

:-D :-D :-D ♡ thankyouuuu!

What a stunning soundscape you've painted. I love that dissonant crash of a chord around 3:19, just before "I'm sorry..." Yeah, I agree with @lillym about the Fiona Apple vibe. I like this you you're showing here. So unique. So talented. So pleasantly deep.

I'm blessed to have your feedback, thanks for seeing me. The 'dissonance' could make a good album name... :p

I just looked up Fiona Apple, it turns out I didn't know her music! She has an interesting thing going on, new discovery - thanks!

totally captivating song, it's powerful! And so wonderful to see you in your cool shades and curly hairdo... Miss you sista xxx

Thanks hunny, glad youre feelin' it! loadsa love

hell yeah. Thats how you crush it! Such a cool tune, I love the If it was lines. They totally tie the room together

Awesome. Cool tune! It has a Fiona Apple vibe :)

She’s awesome and unique! Glad your checking her out :)

Thanks @lillym! I actually don't think I know Fiona Apple, I just checked her out and her sound is pretty interesting! Thanks for putting me on to her music.

Weww... love it! Reminding me at the old days when I started to learn Piano,, and still, I can't quite figured it out... I need to practice more maybe.. ahahhaaha..

Thanks @intosteemit. You can always pick up an instrument, you don't need to figure it all out, just enjoy making noise. xo

  • enjoy making noise * --> great advice... should've been makin noise without any hesitation.. cheers

Interesting and quite lovely composition, Sazzler! I can't help but hear a hint of "Basil" influence in some of the melody structures. Great performance and I love the shades, and your hair! :-)

Thanks PG! Definitely a good hair day, and there's probably endless hints of Basil in my life and creative expression - of all of my inspirations, he is the absolute coolest. Strangely, some of the melody structure was inspired by an 80's song, 'Sign Your Name' by Terence D'Arby, the bridge goes D, A, C#.

Hey! I like your music, too 😐

I don't really understand this, but I like it. Great chords! It reminds me a bit of Moriarty too, is there an influence there?

Haha thanks! I think I have heard of Moriarty, but no, not a direct influence. I will check them out. Peace out bro x (the song is about being affected by a situation which isn't your fault, but wishing it was so you could take the blame, apologize and make it all better.) x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67477.32
ETH 3474.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69