Steemit Open Mic Week 68 - Sweet Farewell [Original Song] THANKYOU GUYS

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

HOWDY once again all you Openmicers!
~CHALLENGE: This was 8th and the final week of the Songwriters Challenge, and this weeks theme was 'Til we meet again'.
~GRATITUDE: The original video has a thankyou message at the start, which was aimed at everyone who gave their support to my song in the last week. I cut out the 1-min message for this submission to keep it short and to the point: The music!
(But I am still really grateful to everyone for upvoting and commenting, and I think to curie? for the big upvote? xoxoxoxo It means a lot more to me than its weight in crypto) I am also grateful to the whole Openmic and Songwriters Challenge crews, and all the people who submitted or got involved. I feel like we all made some kind of real community connection, where a safe space for sharing our music is/has happened.
~MUSIC: Recorded on a very old and out of tune piano, here is the somewhat bittersweet song I wrote this week, 'Sweet Farewell':

LYRICS:

Ain't nothing like a fresh start
I almost forgot who you are
The road binds me on and on
Sweet farewell, oh so long

Oh brother I don't know what to say
It feels like yesterday
But I guess you hide the pain
And there it stays til we meet again

And I guess that you can't tell
The meaning of this Hell
When Heaven's in it too

Did you find it off the beaten track?
You made/took a ride there and never coming back
You said, please don't care
But oh honey, that just isn't fair

Do you remember when I was a child
The whole summer running wild
Growing older is hard to do
But growing wiser is part of it too.

And I guess that you can't tell
The meaning of this Hell
When Heaven's in it too

I guess that you can't tell
The meaning of this Hell
When Heaven's in it too
Heaven's in it too.

..it's such a joy to be part of this community.
STEEM ON Music-lovers!

Sazzler J xoxo

Sort:  

Somehow the slightly out of tune piano makes this better. It goes so nicely with the beautiful kind of old timey feel of your vocals. This is a gospel hymn sung from a driftwood church and the nearest piano tuner is a thousand miles away. Thanks for sweeping me out with the evening tide and drifting with me in this sea of song. This one hit me in the heart. Beautiful lyrics.

Much love - Carl

Hehe yeah i love that piano, im so glad the openmic community let me get away with submitting a song which wasnt completely pitch perfect. Lovin the dust swept image of that ol' church - Im there! Anyway dont enjoy this version too much because ivan.atman is working on a version of this song with orchestral strings i think! I sent him the vocals today. Eek an actual music collaboration! Steemit bending the possibilities!

Oh cool! Steem collabs rule :)

i love it! you remind me of fiona apple in this one, really nice lyrics love your voice, great song

:) I just discovered who Fiona Apple is! Hehe x thanks SBL! xo

Thank you! I have seen there are lots of tracks by you which I really want to listen to. Things have gotten so busy, and I want to give things like this my full attention! I really liked that one song I heard of yours, so very soon I will check it all out! Thanks for taking the time to leave me a comment :-) Respect! xo

Hey nice song sista!
Yeah it took me a little bit to figure out that Curie will give you a big upvote if you are new on Steemit...but your stuff has to be good!
So good on ya
Peace

Really great entry, @sazzler! Loved the lyrics and composition - you performed this piece quite well!

Thanks Big PG! An honour as always xoxo

Woooo @sazzler this is a proper earworm! Really delicious chords and relaxed singing, just flowing... LOVE it. Big hug from me xxx

Beautiful singing well done!!!! keep at it you are doing fantastic!

Cheers brother!!! :-) I'm still marvelling spellbound in all the JuJu Magnificence.

Sounds really good.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

I am relishing this @sazzler I love your choice of chords on this one, this piano transitions are something that drew me to Arcade Fire some years ago, whatcha talking about piano detuned and whatnot 😄 you know damn well it wouldn't sound as good if it wasn't, if you are making EP in a near future you can include this one unmistakably

And @sazzler good Heavens you spelled hell with a capital H, how unchristian of you hahahah 😝

Hahaha is that right? Not a capital H? Whoops.
Im really fond of this piano... its cool to think thats what makes it sound good. I'll definitely re-familiarise myself with Arcade Fire, so far I have really enjoyed your musical suggestions!

@sazzler This song would sound really good with some orchestra sections in the second part along with your own backup vocals, so start just with a piano and a voice and then traverse to the orchestra/backup vocals part, I can help you set this up if you want to collaborate, if you could record your vocals and piano/midi and send them so I can produce the song, could be fun, I think you would enjoy the results

One more song that has this style of the piano transitions is in the start of this song from
The Lumineers, also check Agnes Obel if you haven't yet
😄

Wow what an amazing offer! I would love to hear the orchestra parts you had in mind. I'm definitely up for this (I don't mind where it goes, just play for the fun of it) I do actually have a midi so I could give this a go.... :-)

I am glad you responded this way @sazzler, let's give it a go, I'll contact you via discord ✌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70