Open Mic Week 76 - Building A Mystery by Sarah McLachlan

in #openmic7 years ago

I have not submitted an entry for a few weeks, but the weather was nice and I had a day to myself. Worked up this little number. (I know I messed up in a few spots) Enjoy!

Thank you to @luzchypher and @pfunk for hosting open mic and also thank you to all the judges! I know it takes a long time to go through all of these entries, but I really appreciate everything you do!

Lyrics:

you come out at night
that's when the energy comes
and the dark side's light
and the vampires roam
you strut your rasta wear
and your suicide poem
and a cross from a faith
that died before Jesus came
you're building a mystery

you live in a church
where you sleep with voodoo dolls
and you won't give up the search
for the ghosts in the halls
you wear sandals in the snow
and a smile that won't wash away
can you look out the window
without your shadow getting in the way
oh you're so beautiful
with an edge and a charm
but so careful
when I'm in your arms

[chorus]
'cause you're working
building a mystery
holding on and holding it in
yeah you're working
building a mystery
and choosing so carefully

you woke up screaming aloud
a prayer from your secret god
you feed off our fears
and hold back your tears

give us a tantrum
and a know it all grin
just when we need one
when the evening's thin

oh you're a beautiful
a beautiful fucked up man
you're setting up your
razor wire shrine

[chorus]

[repeat chorus]

Again, thank you so much for watching!!!

Sort:  

Nice cover.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Love it!!!

Thanks honey!!!! Love you @hethur240!!

Loved this rendition of yours, Sally! Nice, girlfriend!

That was beautiful sweet! I always love your videos! I found some really old songs that you recorded! One is called Free and I think the other is called Alone... Jaiden really loved them!

Thank you! And sweet! I loved alone! I barely remember it anymore. I have it somewhere on a flash drive i think.

great song selection choice it fits your delivery @sallyswitchblade

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.97
ETH 2392.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60