Open Mic Week 78, an original called 'The Used' by @rockchickjen!

in #openmic6 years ago

I have been going through some old recordings and found a song I wrote years ago. So I decided it was time to pick up my guitar and share it with the Open Mic Community! Plus I haven't been playing my guitar as much as I should lately. It just seems so hard to do now after my fathers passing, but I know that it's just a bump I must get past. Because my passion is playing and writing music, and I know he would have wanted me to continue playing. It's funny how we can find strength through pain sometimes, and this song reflects that. I knew it years ago when I wrote the song, but had to figure it out again on my own.


Lyrics:

I feel so dirty, I feel so cheap, try to cleanse me and set me free
So many have tried and all have failed, hope is lost, hope is lost
I pour my heart out into your hands, while time ticks by with the sands
Of an hourglass on my night stand, I'm too late, I'm too late
It never ends this fucked up fight, I sit alone on this dark night
It's pain I find in my warped mind, that makes me bleed

(Chorus)
Smear my makeup, make me cry
Hold me up, get me high
Cut me low, so low to the ground
And here I lay until I'm found
Cuz you don't know, you don't know, no you don't know how it feels
To be used

I hate this old place and what it represents, I hate who I was who I've ended up since
The lovers at war, hear their callus screams, don't ask for the water she'll teach you to cry

Chorus x 2


Sorry for the view up my nose, but I was home alone and just used the table to steady my phone. I'm also sorry for the horrid faces I make... Haha! Gotta love the music faces! Plus it's a rainy day here and there's no reason for me to get out and about so I'm in my pj's and all natural! ;)


78.png

A huge shout out and thank you to @pfunk, @luczypher, and all the open mic judges for keeping this amazing contest going!


Thanks for looking and hope to see you again soon!
Ask me how to join the Steemit Local Music Society on Discord!

blog_collage.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Rock Chick Jen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You make good faces! Faces of emotions! wonderful song. Thank you!

Haha! Thank you for listening! And the kind comment. ;)

Sounds great! It’s nice to see you with the acoustic again!!! I’ve always been a sucker for acoustic originals ;) Keep it up!

Thank you sweet! It was nice to hug her again but man my fingers hurt... haha!

WOAH - This is brilliant, Brilliantly sad and f@cken AWESOME!!

Thank you! It was a very sad time for me in my life! But I got this song from it so it's ok. ;)

It is screwed up that such lovely flowers have to grow from shit!
Sorry that you had to experience that!!
MUCH LOVE & SUPPORT

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61599.36
ETH 3407.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47