Big Yellow Taxi (Original Instrumental Cover) OpenMic Week 4

in #openmic8 years ago (edited)

Open Mic Week 4: I used to eat lunch at the spot Joni Mitchel was writing about in an area called Yorkville in Toronto. I actually had my office window at one point over-looking it. The song itself is not really what it sounds like on the surface - yellow taxi was slang for a police car in Toronto at the time (some genius painted them yellow). I guess it made the song more appealing to call the police cab drivers rather than something more pejorative! Brilliant!

For those out there who care - the guitar im playing is a Taylor circa 2003 (I have 12 guitars total - eek)- I have elixr strings on there and im playing in open D tuning (DADF#AD).

I sometimes tune into open A or D or G because it sounds so rich. I use it mostly for blues (especially with a slide). This song was discovered as I was playing something else - I could hear a bit of the melody so I figured it out (my version).

This is how I play my guitar most often - I can shred like anyone out there - but for me at 35 -its about the story, emotion and the color that music creates. Sometimes a simple arrangement can tell a complex story. This music made me happy today - hopefully im not alone!

Sort:  

Nice! I'm pretty much obsessed with Joni Mitchel tbh :)

Shes interesting to play. She used a lot of "open tunings" because she suffered from polio as a kid - she didnt have the strength.. thats why you'll notice im doing a "bar with my 1 finger quit a bit.. that one finger is actually playing an entire chord.. little bit of trivia ;)

Thanks for entering Open Mic. You forget three very important steps to entering.

  • IMPORTANT: SAY THE WORDS OPEN MIC WEEK 4 AT THE INTRO OF YOUR VIDEO
  • IMPORTANT: The first words in the title of your post must include the words: Open Mic Week 4 before any other text in the title.
  • IMPORTANT: POST A LINK OF YOUR POST TO THE COMMENTS OF THIS POST. This will increase your exposure and votes while increasing the amount of prize money ansd will let us know you have entered Open Mic.

Please read the instructions carefully.

Hey - thanks.. the rules must have changed.. my bad. Here is a picture of me right this second.. I would have to redo the whole video.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@rgeddes/big-yellow-taxi-instrumental-cover-week-4

It's ok this time. Just read the rules because they may change over time. Thanks for entering. Good luck!

Thanks - Will keep that in mind next time.

liked the cover - your pic's inverted, but the guitar work's great!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65