Being A Songwritter - OpenMic 37 - 7 o'clock Blues (Original)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

I am a songwriter among other things. It is my preferred method of artistic expression because it is something that is difficult - something one is always perfecting. Most people know a lot of really good singers or instrumentalists - but not many know people who have experienced some success with it as a "hobby with benefits".

I know where I fit. I am not a performer - if I was a singer songwriter I would most certainly be playing any bar or club that would take me. That's not my gift. Part of being a songwriter is making songs simple in order to allow an artist a bit of leeway. Since my voice cant always hit the notes I want - I need to be incredibly instructive.

Usually it starts off with what we call a "scratch" - which is basically me playing and singing a song straight through. Then the producer and band (and me) listen to it together - we work out the key for the singer - figure out the instrumentation - and record the instrumental track.

Once the instrumental track has been recorded - the singer comes in. No major changes are made to the song after the "scratch" is made. While we might decide on a different "vibe" in terms of instrumentation or perhaps mildly adjusting the tempo - the song is sang in the same manner the singer envisioned it when he or she listens to it on their own.

I write mainly for "film and tv" - which essentially means - I am not trying to write a pop song thats going to be on the radio - its not in my DNA. Writing for "film and tv" means that you are writing a song in such a way that the company/production can take little slices of songs and use it when scenes transition - or to convey a mood. Its not a high paying gig by any means - but it certainly keeps the hobby going.

The music I produce is usually project based and instrumental. I am a member of SOCAN like every other "earning" Canadian artist but usually will negotiate a flat rate. Right now I am working on a 3 minute instrumental for a "surfing video". Its not a huge deal - but it provides me with a goal and usually leads to new relationships. I love to play - and I especially like to build layers on top of music with other instruments and voicing.

This song is one that I wrote and was kind of unsure of (like this post).. I didn't think it was done - but it sounded like a beer commercial to me. I recorded the scratch with my guitar open tuned and used a slide.. part way through I felt like stomping - on the recording we used a stomp box (an empty Rubbermaid container but don't tell anyone).. It was recorded and produced on "Music Row" in Nashville , TN. This song was signed by 2 production houses and is probably #1 somewhere in Kazakhstan. This isn't a part of my life I usually talk about so - hopefully someone enjoys this!

I'm using this example on purpose because I doubted it. Putting any more on this would have ruined it.. sometimes you just gotta go with it..

Sort:  

"This isn't a part of my life I usually talk about so - hopefully someone enjoys this!"

I always enjoy any glimpses I can get into the mind of a fellow creative. I really do enjoy hearing about your thought processes and your work.

Oh, and I love the song too! ;) Playing it again now...
😄😇😄

@creatr

P.S. I once had a blues knocking around in my head for years...
I finally got it out. One day perhaps I'll share it here.

Thanks for playing Steemit Open Mic. Sounds great. To qualify for the rewards though it needs to be live and say Open Mic Week 37 at the beginning so we know it is really you. You're welcome to keep entering because we love music and yours is awesome. Grab a guitar and play it live and you may win some prizes.

Wow... thanks so much for sharing what goes into you craft-niche, and thanks for sharing this Nashville "diamond-in-the-rough..." Loved it man!

Appreciate it!

OMG followed and upvoted.!!

Parabéns muito bom!

Muito obrigado! Thanks!

Great post and tune

Love the guitar in this..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65348.61
ETH 3557.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45